My insert journey-FIRST FIRE!

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Iembalm4aLiving

Feeling the Heat
Hearth Supporter
Oct 3, 2008
N.E. Ohio
Hey gang.....I had another thread that evolved into an insert search so I've dedicated a new thread to the process.

Since I'm new to the woodburning stove/insert scene, I welcome all comments and suggestions.

My house is a 1970's split level, approx. 1800 sq. feet. The fireplace is in the living room, the lowest level of the home. The living room is 12x20. In line with the living room is the kitchen, 12x12 a few steps up from the living room. So the direct area that the insert will heat is approx. 12x32.

My fireplace opening is 27" h 34" w 20" deep

First installer e-mailed me his quote.

He has several Napoleon 1402's that he's looking to move....so of course his quote is for installing that unit.

napoleon 1402 $ 1,862
26’ x 6†316TI liner 465
1/2†foil faced insulation 187
“fire-safe†plate 88
6†elbow with band strap 52
SS Armor mesh 30
18Ga SS top plate 30
6†SS top plate clamp 17

Installation (includes cleaning flue) 867
tax 177

Total $ 3800 (rounded off for our purposes)

2nd installer's quote

Installer no. 2 does not sell the inserts, but happily installs them.

His quote:

25ft. of 6" stainless liner
cap
top plate
insulation
connector adapter
labor
TOTAL....$1525

Obviously, plus the cost of the insert chosen.

No. 3 is due this evening....stay tuned!

The installation costs seem about right. Nothing shocking there. The price on the Napoleon insert is about right as well.