My stove hates me!

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

egclassic

Feeling the Heat
Jan 1, 2011
SW Ohio
I can operate this thing all day long with absolutely no issues.
But come time to load it up for the over night burn and it decides not to cooperate.
Last night I loaded it up at 8:00. Got a nice burn going, closed the air down and about a half hour or so later, I had an overfire. So of course, then I was up until 11:00 babysitting the stove.
I don't know why, but it only seems to happen on the over night loads when all I want to do is get it going and get off to bed. I am still learning and it seems to happen more when I put a split of some old oak I have in there.:confused:

Usually colder air at night so stronger draft also can be one reason.
Have you tried bigger splits on the night load?

How large was the coal bed on the reload? Was it burned down before reloading?

Last edited:
Hate is such a harsh word. Maybe it just likes a little mischief?

It sounds like you were hurrying the reload on a stove that wasn't ready. I think we all do that at times. When you know you have to time things like Santa's arrival, etc, put some small loads in during the evening so you can limp the stove along until it's time to do the heavy load at night.

Reactions: gyrfalcon
What temperatures are you reading during the overfire? Or are you simply saying that your stove pipe is glowing :ZZZ