n/s loading longer burn than e/w???

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

ckarotka

Minister of Fire
Sep 21, 2009
Northwest PA on the lake
The quad in my sig is the stove I'm talking about here. I've been loading it e/w for the last four years. This week after knowledge from hearth.com I got off my lazy *** and cut some splits to 8" (don't laugh) and loaded her up n/s. Fire box size is 16"w 8"d 8"to top of fire brick, I know it's small.

Everything I've read says n/s hot and fast. For me n/s it producing the best burns I've every hard and worth the extra cutting.
Seems to burn the wood all the way through and hold a higher cruising temp for a longer time frame. I've extended my short burn cycles by over and hour by doing this.

Is it because n/s I can fill it more or perhaps this is just what she likes?

My T6 also likes n/s. I can get longer burns because I can put more wood in it. It all depends on the air system on your stove. So n/s is usually faster burns but not always.

I've done a few N-S burns in my Liberty recently...don't have to re-cut, but I gotta look for splits that are a bit shorter than average. I've had good luck with it, and I believe it's because I put more wood in the box than when I'm tossing in splits E-W. Loading E-W, I rarely load more than 3 or 4 splits at a time (my splits are generally 5" or 6" across). Loading N-S, I can easily slide 5 or 6 in there, if I can find that many "shorties" in the shed. So I'm actually loading in about 30% more fuel or so. Rick