Nearly Absolute Beginner

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Pavesa

Hearth Supporter
Feb 28, 2009
Nova Scotia
Hi,

I live in Nova Scotia, came here from England about 2 years ago and really really enjoying it.

We've rented a house for about 18 months that's had a pretty serious woodstove (no make mentioned on it) and it has pretty much heated the entire house during the winter - last winter we used 1/2 a tank of oil and 2 1/2 cords of wood. The house is pretty open plan which lets the heat get around which is great. It has convinced me that wood stoves are the way to go, "green" too!

We're in the process of buying an old house without a stove,

We didn't have a stove in the UK so I'm a novice it terms of deciding what to buy and where to locate it in the building and I was wondering if you could give me some pointers?

A few things about the house first. It has a basement. Prevailing winds in the winter are from the northwest. I've put this diagram of the layout at the following link, north is up the page.

http://perso.wanadoo.es/andrew.bagley/HouseDiag.htm

The first photo is looking from the north site (ie/ the sunporch faces north), the second photo is from the southwest. The chimney to the rear of the house is usable but has no lining and we don't know the condition. The other chimney doesn't seem to go anywhere, doesn't appear in the house!

The entrance is into the kitchen from a mudroom south of the kitchen.The stairs are marked with an arrow and the letter "S". Total area is about 2,300 sq ft. The sitting room is about 14'x15'.