Need a new hearth pad

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
  • Super Cedar firestarters 30% discount Use code Hearth2024 Click here
Status
Not open for further replies.

TimG

Aug 8, 2015
Milton, Pennsylvania
Good morning!

I have been using my Harman Mark II stove for about 15 years. We have a new insurance company and they will be coming to inspect stove. I have not had any problems with it in all these years but I need a new hearth of a greater size. According to my calculations, I need a pad of about 4'x5'. However, I don't want to spend between $300.00 or more on a new one. My current pad is only 3'x3' and is not big enough for my insurance company.

Question, can I use red brick or something else to make my own that would be cheaper? This stove is on the first floor of our home in our family room. It is on carpeting.

Thanks much for any suggestions.

Tim

Welcome Tim. A brick hearth with cement board and a sheet of metal under it may be permissible. It depends on what Harman has tested for protection. What are the hearth pad requirements for min. thickness and insulation listed in the manual?

Welcome Tim. A brick hearth with cement board and a sheet of metal under it may be permissible. It depends on what Harman has tested for protection. What are the hearth pad requirements for min. thickness and insulation listed in the manual?

Thickness is 3/8" but doesn't indicate insulation just says "non-combustible material".

They sell some hearth "mats" too. Usually not the prettiest things but I think they're under 50 bucks and available at most local hardware stores.

What material do you have now?