Need some NC30 help

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

mol1jb

Feeling the Heat
Jan 8, 2014
Central IL
Hey all,

Since this is my first year with the NC30 I'm still working out the kinks. Lately, I have been having issues with it running too hot at the begining of my reloads. I reload normally at 300* or less, turning the air down gradually until about ~500 when I turn it between 15-0% open. From there it just seem to sky rocket. The secondaries are going nuts and my temps top out around 700* for between 30 mins to an hour. Then the temps drop like a rock with the wood all gassed out due to the intense burn.

This is good for mornings when I need to nock off the night chill but for evenings I like a slower more gradual burn. I know many have experimented with magnets blocking off secondary openings, either dog house, secondary burn opening or both.

My questions to those is which holes, how much and did you achieve the desired result of a slower more gradual burn?

Thank you

Start the air reduction earlier and close it all the way off before you try changing the design is the bet approach. The 700 is not an issue and is common with this stove and good wood. What are you burning? Maybe the wood is on the softer side of the BTU spectrum - that or just too darn cold and you cycles are shortened like most of us right now.

If none of this works try the rectangular hole in the bottom at the back. A little at a time.

I agree with Boburban... Dont mess with the stoves design. Personally i would not restrict my secondary intake holes.