Need Stove Recommendations

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

Jerpover

Feb 7, 2022
New Mexico
I am in the market for a wood stove as the main source of heat for a small 1200 sq/ft poorly insulated home. It’s kinda of a long narrow shape - like a double wide. I am currently using a couple of those mr buddy propane heaters and it’s not cutting it and costs me about $65 a week in propane. I need some recommendations as I am totally new to this. I am located between Albuquerque and Santa Fe in New Mexico climate 7b. The average winter minimum is about 15f but we got down to 5f just three nights ago. The stoves I have available to me are the basic budget ones from Home Depot - Englander and Ashley Hearth. I also have the Pacific Energy Vista, Super 27 and True North TN-20. These are all well within my budget at about 2k. I was just at a show room where someone recommended a jotul 45 v2 Greenville or an Hearthstone green mountain 40. Both these stoves are about 3k and seem smaller than the Pacific Energy. The dealer at the show room mentioned the hearthstone being made out of soap stone and that being better for holding heat through the night. Any thoughts or recommendations would be greatly appreciated!

I love my Woodstock Fireview, and I do find that the soapstone holds heat well (but conversely, it takes a while to heat up - it's great for when it's running most of the time, but I could see it being annoying if you just had evening fires), but to get a broader range of views, I'd suggest checking out the Ratings section for more details on the stoves and manufacturers you have access to.