1. Welcome Hearth.com Guests and Visitors - Please enjoy our forums!
    Hearth.com GOLD Sponsors who help bring the site content to you:
    Hearthstone Soapstone and Cast-Iron stoves( Wood, Gas or Pellet Stoves and Inserts)

Netbook for $40

Post in 'The Inglenook' started by webbie, Jun 20, 2012.

  1. DexterDay

    DexterDay Guest

    They were there. But only showed as an attachment. No pic visible. So erased and trying to fix. Now the phone isn't cooperating! !!

    Helpful Sponsor Ads!





  2. DexterDay

    DexterDay Guest

    Here they are......

    2012-07-06_07-40-39_831.jpg 2012-07-06_07-41-39_507.jpg
  3. MasterMech

    MasterMech Guest

    What encryption mode are you using Dex? If it's WPA2 (which what all concerned citizens should be using) then some older devices (I'm guessing these new toys aren't exactly on the forefront of wireless technology....) struggle with that. Try temporarily disabling your wireless encryption and see if it will connect then. I'm sure the real comp gurus around here will be along shortly and may be of more help.
    DexterDay likes this.
  4. BrotherBart

    BrotherBart Hearth.com LLC Mid-Atlantic Division Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2005
    Messages:
    29,142
    Loc:
    Northern Virginia
  5. PapaDave

    PapaDave Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2008
    Messages:
    5,740
    Loc:
    Northern MI - in the mitten
    And.......you're still married? WTH!
    DexterDay likes this.
  6. BrotherBart

    BrotherBart Hearth.com LLC Mid-Atlantic Division Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2005
    Messages:
    29,142
    Loc:
    Northern Virginia
    Dexter one thing to check. If your wireless router has access control activated you need to add the MAC address of the lil guy to the list.

    The thing I always forget.

    My two just arrived and one is unpacked and up and running. I kinda like the lil thing.
  7. begreen

    begreen Mooderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2005
    Messages:
    49,803
    Loc:
    South Puget Sound, WA
    Check your wireless modem's admin settings. It may be restricting the number of wireless devices.
    PapaDave likes this.
  8. northwinds

    northwinds Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Messages:
    1,362
    Loc:
    south central WI
    I

    Have you used it on hearth-com yet? I hit about 6 security certificate invalid warnings when I got here until I realized that the date on the netbook was set for 2010.

    I'm out of town for a month, and I had planned on taking the netbook with me, but it would have driven me nuts. Crammed the laptop into my suitcase.


    With the netbook, it took me a couple of tries with the wireless configurations until WPA-2 with password worked to get me connected.
  9. BrotherBart

    BrotherBart Hearth.com LLC Mid-Atlantic Division Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2005
    Messages:
    29,142
    Loc:
    Northern Virginia
    There is a Feb. 2012 OS update with youtube fix that I am downloading right now. Gonna have to jump through a few hoops since I don't have a SD card reader but I am going to try flashing the update tonight.
  10. begreen

    begreen Mooderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2005
    Messages:
    49,803
    Loc:
    South Puget Sound, WA
    This could get ugly.

    Flasher-practice.jpg
  11. BrotherBart

    BrotherBart Hearth.com LLC Mid-Atlantic Division Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2005
    Messages:
    29,142
    Loc:
    Northern Virginia
    I tried it that way on the first one. And bricked it. Don't think it will ever work again. The second one I used the SD card and it worked. But it is useless with Windows CE so I dug up a ROM flash for Android 2.2 that works.

    Neither one of them are gonna do me any good anyway. Neither CE nor Android support Java or ActiveX so they won't work with the cameras.
  12. Jags

    Jags Moderate Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2006
    Messages:
    15,269
    Loc:
    Northern IL

Share This Page