1. Welcome Hearth.com Guests and Visitors - Please enjoy our forums!
    Hearth.com GOLD Sponsors who help bring the site content to you:
    Hearthstone Soapstone and Cast-Iron stoves( Wood, Gas or Pellet Stoves and Inserts)

New Actuator Data

Post in 'The Boiler Room - Wood Boilers and Furnaces' started by Bartman, Jan 14, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Bartman

    Bartman Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2007
    Messages:
    182
    Loc:
    Long Island, NY
    Bench tested the new actuator today, it works pretty nice. The unit is geared down quite a bit, it takes 150sec. to rotate 95 degrees, it's full rotation. The actuator has a lot of power for it's size, I'll need to attach a lever to it to really see how much power it has. The unit needs a 24VAC power input, and a DC control input, you can either use a 4-20ma or a 0-29VDC control input. In testing I used a fixed 16VDC input, and was able to adjust full open position by the left potentiometer, so it should have variable stop at varying voltage input, I'll test that later tonight. The right potentiometer is for adjustment of feedback voltage, so a signal can be sent from unit to control, that is 0-29VDC. It looks like when using the feedback function from the actuator you have to use 4-20ma to control it. There are multiple configurations for this model. This actuator has a microprocessor to control the speed to maintain the 150sec open/close operation for rotations of 35-95 degrees, 0-35 degrees is a constant speed. If you look closely, you will see 2 phillips head screws around the rotating head, those are adjustable hard stops if your damper doesn't have any. The motor will not be damaged by maintained force against the stops. Hopefully I can change the PDF file of the tech data sheet I scanned so it will be able to be viewed.

    Attached Files:

    Helpful Sponsor Ads!





  2. Bartman

    Bartman Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2007
    Messages:
    182
    Loc:
    Long Island, NY
    Here's the tech data, the sheet that comes with the actuator is tiny so I have to enlarge it to scan it.

    Attached Files:

  3. jebatty

    jebatty Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2008
    Messages:
    4,513
    Loc:
    Northern MN
    An infinitely variable actuator certainly would be helpful. To me, the control circuitry is the key. It seems to be that on initial burn the actuator should allow a maximum pre-set airflow to bring stack temp to maximum desired operating temp; then reduce air (this also could be pre-set) to produce the desired approximate long burn temp; then as temp falls towards end of burn, again full airflow to get maximum heat of remainng coals.

    In my situation my desire would be 600F max temp, operating temp 400-525. No exact science on the numbers.

    What I now acheive on a fixed forced draft setting (Tarm) is a moderately rapid rise to 600, then hold at 600 during early part of burn, then gradually fall to extended burn in the range indicated, with a slow fall off until the burn is done. Maybe this is good enough. Does the good old 80/20 rule applyhere? Certainly, no parts to fail in this purely mechanical set-up.
  4. Nofossil

    Nofossil Moderator Emeritus

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    Messages:
    3,422
    Loc:
    Addison County, Vermont
    Thanks for posting this. Too bad Christmas is gone - it would have been nice in my stocking.

    I looked it up on the web and it indicated a 2-10 volt position input, while you mention a 0-29 volt range.

    I have 0-5 volt outputs available on my controller. Can you adjust this thing to get a decent range of movement at 5 volts? I'd love to not have to add an amplifier to my output.
  5. Bartman

    Bartman Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2007
    Messages:
    182
    Loc:
    Long Island, NY
    As soon as I get a 24V xfmr to connect to this, I'll use my variable power supply to see what range 5V will give.
  6. wdc1160

    wdc1160 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2007
    Messages:
    356
    Loc:
    Lafayette IN -BoilerMakerCountry
    Thnks For sharing.
  7. Bartman

    Bartman Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2007
    Messages:
    182
    Loc:
    Long Island, NY
    Okay guys, I haven't forgotten about the actuator test, my computer's been down for a few days, new motherboard, memory and various needed retrofits. Tomorrow I'll be testing the actuator and listing the data found.
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page