new burner needs help

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

[email protected]

Hearth Supporter
Feb 4, 2009
Northern ,IL
This is my first year burning with my new Fpx 44 elite in a new home built my me.
I bought a magnetic temp meter and so far the best I have gotten up to is 400 deg. Where should I be putting this on the face? I know I should be 650 or above right ?
I have tried it on the upper part of the door and up my the flue control on the face plate. Lack of temp maybe due to the quality of my wood but after finishing the house I had limited time to scrounge wood for this year.
I believe I am getting good draft as the stove wants to suck the doors closed. I hear a whistling sound down by the bower control when I have the air shut down. Is this normal ?
I insulated the chase or at least the first floor portion of it 14ft up to the block off plate 3/4 plywood with a stainless steel plate surrounding( no insulation). Should I knock into the 2nd story portion and insulate/drywall.
If I was going to jump into the wall this summer can I surround the portion of the insert inside the chase with un faced batts to further insulate. I was also thinking of wrapping the air and outside blower pipes around the od.
Any thing I should /should not do while I am in there?

Most likely the wood. I had some "seasoned" wood delivered last year and am finding it hard to get up to temp. Lots of hissing and steaming from it. :(

sounds like your draft is not the problem. Try buying a bag of kiln dried wood at the hardware store, see how it runs. Then you'll know if it's the wood.