1. Welcome Hearth.com Guests and Visitors - Please enjoy our forums!
    Hearth.com GOLD Sponsors who help bring the site content to you:
    Hearthstone Soapstone and Cast-Iron stoves( Wood, Gas or Pellet Stoves and Inserts)

New Enviro Kodiak 2100

Post in 'The Hearth Room - Wood Stoves and Fireplaces' started by GrampaDennis, Nov 26, 2012.

  1. FullCompliment

    FullCompliment Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2011
    Messages:
    17
    Loc:
    Flathead Valley, MT
    I wonder if the temp range is Celsius rather than Fahrenheit...

    Helpful Sponsor Ads!





  2. GrampaDennis

    GrampaDennis New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2012
    Messages:
    44
    Loc:
    Central Maine
    I haven't been active in Hearth.com for a while, but now that cold weather is back, here I am!

    I double-checked my manual. The stove top operating temp range is specified as 250 to 550 degrees Farenheit. I believe that the reason the stove top temp is less on this stove than some others has to do with the double firebrick baffle in the top of the firebox and the overall design of the stove. I have the thermometer set to one side of the stove top, because I use a steamer in the center. I doubt if the thermometer would read a lot more in the center.

    This fall, with wood that is not quite as dry as I would prefer, the stove works pretty well, and has some secondary flames at 250 to 350 on the stovetop thermometer. Below that range, it doesn't burn as clean. I sometimes get above 350, but not as often with this wood as with what I burned last year.
    raybonz likes this.
  3. JustMike

    JustMike New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2013
    Messages:
    24
    Loc:
    Newfoundland
    What temps you getting on the stove pipe about 18" up? My 2100 still takes some encouragement to get going with seasoned wood with the first load but on the second fill when I have good hot coals my temps can get really hot, well in the burn zone, even with the damper closed. It's much better now I have the brick placement figured on the top layer though. I can get it to over fire with the damper all the way out but shut it off and it stays in the lower burn zone nicely....
  4. brakatak

    brakatak Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2013
    Messages:
    113
    Loc:
    SE Mass.
    i put in the Enviro 1700 insert this year. Big fan of it so far. Solid performance, solid look. Have set my oil tstat to 60 and it has yet to go off. already saved a months worth of oil. pumped. stove keeps the 1700 sqft house between 68-75.
    my only concern is I have 2 cords of seasoned wood. and I don't want to burn it all before the real cold hits.
    raybonz likes this.
  5. GrampaDennis

    GrampaDennis New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2012
    Messages:
    44
    Loc:
    Central Maine
    JustMike -
    I just moved my magnetic thermometer up onto the stovepipe, about 18" up. It had been running about 275 F (lower end of burn zone) before it was moved. The load had burned down to a good amount of coals. I opened the air control, raked the coals, and went downstairs for more wood. When I got back with the wood, the thermometer had dropped a little - to about 225 F. Of course I can't say this was all due to the change of position of the thermometer (changed too many things at once - I should know better). Now that the 3 new sticks are starting to burn (air control full open), the temp is starting back up. I'll post again when it has peaked.

    Like yours, my 2100 never seriously overfires, even when left full open. I've seen it get between 600 F and 700 F a couple of times last year, when I was burning very dry wood.
  6. GrampaDennis

    GrampaDennis New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2012
    Messages:
    44
    Loc:
    Central Maine
    When we are home, and tending the stove, the oil system only heats our water. In the winter when it is really cold, the oil will come on a bit in the night, but that's partly because we keep the thermostats set higher than you do.

    I think you will find that 2 cords of good wood will last you quite a while with that stove. Unless your house is pretty drafty, my guess is that you will get through the winter with 2 cords.
  7. GrampaDennis

    GrampaDennis New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2012
    Messages:
    44
    Loc:
    Central Maine
    JustMike -

    The thermometer got up to 300 F and we were starting to get cooked out of the living room. I closed it down some. I'll have to wait for a colder night before I experiment again with how high I can get it to peak.
  8. raybonz

    raybonz Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2008
    Messages:
    6,207
    Loc:
    Carver, MA.
    Hi Dennis,
    I live in SE Mass too and I use about 3-4 cords a year heating 1600 sq. ft. 24/7 and suspect brakatak will too..

    Ray
  9. BrowningBAR

    BrowningBAR Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2008
    Messages:
    7,607
    Loc:
    Doylestown, PA
    I agree. 3-4 cords sounds about right. Maybe more for the first year.
    raybonz likes this.

Share This Page