New Harman P68 smoke smell

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

My Dog is Nuts

Oct 5, 2023
YabberDabberDoo69
New to this forum. Thanks for all the useful info on here.

Installed a new Harman P68 pellet stove to replace my worn out Rika. Heard good things about the Harman so went that direction.

I am a licensed Plumber with over 40 years in the Plumbing/Heating and Pipefitting industry from small residential to commercial and industrial work. About 13 years ago I was installing Rika pellet stoves on the side of my regular work so I am familiar with codes and install practices.
Anyway here's the issue.

Stove seems to operate as intended until about 45 minutes into the cycle when the smell appears. This is when the pellets are still burning but the flame is real small at the back of the pot where the auger is. The Distribution and Combustion motors are still on at this point. I waited the whole cycle this morning and the smell only appeared for a few seconds and then was gone. Came down an hour or so later and the stove was going through another cycle at about the same point where the flame was almost gone and then the smoke smell came back much stronger and lasted for just less than 1 minute.

We have very sensitive smoke detectors in the area but they do not go off.

Have been fighting this for about 2 weeks now. When I installed the stove the door did not seem to be latching as tight as I thought it should have but I turned it on and ran it for a few days that way and there was a lot of the smoke smell. Not enough to trigger alarms though,