New Stove

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.
P

Pallet Pete

I have been heating with wood for about 4 years and am considering a new stove. My current stove is a Vogelzang Durango. The situation is my wife and I are gone 13 to 14 hours a day and the current stove doesn't cut it anymore. We where looking at a Couple of brands and debating Pellet vs Wood however the advantages and draw backs to both are making it a tough decision. Our house is 1500 square ft 500 of which is upstairs and we have no insulation in our home due to the house age of 118 years. Here is the list we have narrowed it down to.

http://www.harmanstoves.com/en/Products/Oakwood-Wood-Stove.aspx

http://www.blazeking.com/EN/wood-princess.html

http://www.harmanstoves.com/Products/P38-Plus-Pellet-Stove.aspx

I would appreciate any advice and even any stoves to look at.

Thanks everyone!
Pete

I won't get into the pellet vs. wood analysis except to say that if you go with a pellet stove you're committing to buy all your fuel. If you currently buy all your wood, it's not such an issue, but if you have access to free wood or can scrounge it, it's a consideration. I don't know much about the Harmans either, but a lot of people here like the Blaze King stoves for long burn times and "set and forget" operation, which sounds like it might address your being gone 13 to 14 hours a day.