New to house and wood burning stove, insurance questions

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

TishnChase

Jan 19, 2011
Eastern Missouri
I just recently purchased a house that has a wood burning furnace in the basement.
I have just found out that it is the original Johnson Energy Systems Furnace from 1977. I believe it is model 1100.
My insurance company will not cover it because it is not UL listed. I'm wondering if I could purchase a new blower for it to satisfy the insurance company.

I'm very new to all of this, so I appologize if this post is in the wrong forum.

Does anyone have any thoughts or suggestions? I would really love to start using it, the cost of propane is killing me already. I've only been in the house a month now.

Attachments

• IMG_0343.jpg
    IMG_0343.jpg
    47 KB · Views: 1,907
  • IMG_0341.jpg
    IMG_0341.jpg
    59.1 KB · Views: 742
Don't bother, changing the blower wouldn't make it any more insurable.

And welcome to the forum. You are in the right place.

Well, that's up to you. Safety should be the number one concern. Cosmetically, outside doesn't look too bad, but we have no way of knowing it's interior or working condition or whether it would be safe to run this season. For sure you will need to have a chimney sweep clean and check the flue out and give you a report on it's condition. That is going to determine a lot.