New to LP heating

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

nd22121

Oct 30, 2018
PA
Hello,
I recently purchased the champlain hearthstone LP direct vent fireplace. This is my first time using gas to heat so I don’t know what’s normal and what’s not.
1. The flame when first lit was really blue. Reading through the instruction manual it I made sure the restrictor plate was full open. I then adjusted the air shutter which worked to bring the flame to the more orange color. Per the instructions I ensure the flames were not “licking” the top of the fire box. My only concern is the manual also said this should be done by someone qualified. Is this really true or more of a CYA from the manufacturer. If it is true then I need to call some one to make sure the fireplace is functioning properly.

2. I also got the got tie hearthstone gas blower as well. It’s temperature controlled and comes one I think once the temp has reached 120. I have the stove set to temperature control. The flame will go down and stop completely when the temp is reached. The fan eventually shuts off but then it will turn back on a second or two later. Shut off, then back on. This is annoying cause it does multiple cycles of this ever time. I can’t imagine that’s good for the motor either, on and off like that. I’m not sure what the issue is. Could it be the fan is actually cooling the stove off so it shuts off but then that heat starts to radiate again and it turns back on and keeps doing this until the temperature is well below 120?
It’s a brand new blower but could something be already malfunctioning on it?

Thanks for helping a newbie!!