New to wood stoves... and something is amiss

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

MeghonFire

Jan 9, 2016
Maine
Hi all,

So glad to have found this website, as we moved to Maine and are getting into the whole wood-burning thing. We moved into a house with a preexisting Vermont Castings Resolute Acclaim. I have no idea how old it is, but there are some obvious problems with it (missing gaskets on the door, warped damper door). Please be patient with my terminology, as I am still learning!

However, the biggest problem, I think, is what's happening in the back of the firebox, behind the firebricks... I had someone take the pipe out so I could trouble shoot what was keeping the damper door from opening all the way. He reached his hand down into the back of the stove from the pipe opening and started pulling soft material out, which he called "insulation" but I'm not sure what it was. Anyway, he said something along the lines of hating air-tight stoves anyway, and we should do a test burn and see how the baby works.