Newbie girl - How to make the most out of wood and coal?

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

oska

Nov 29, 2015
PA
Hello,

I'm a newbie girl to burning wood. I live alone and recently purchased a Harman Mark 3 - which can burn both wood and coal. I was told to burn wood in the earlier part of the year and then switch over to coal when it gets very chilly.

My question is this:

How do I burn wood most efficiently for heat production?

Should I:

A. Open the vent all the way, and let wood burn bright and hot and get the house up to 83F and just let the house slowly cool over time.
B. Open he vent a smidge once it gets going with embers, and let a bunch of big wood smoulder all day long and keep the house at 75.

I usually put a small lay layer of anthracite coal on the bottom of my fires because I found that this keeps the stove hot long after the wood has burned out - and it only uses a small amount of coal. Is that a good idea or am I doing a horrible thing?

I love anthracite - I don't know why other peopel don't put a nice pile of the stuff in their stoves while they burn wood - it's incredibly hot burning and completely passive (I don't have to do anything, no coal added - just put a little pile there and it gets red hot and amplifies heat maintenance throughout the day).

Please help answer my question!