Newbie here. Help me convince my wife we need an insert!

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

av8roc

Hearth Supporter
Nov 2, 2009
Long Island, NY
First post, been lurking for a while.

We bought our house in the spring and are considering a fireplace insert to offset the cost of heating oil. (275g tank costs over $500 bucks a pop to fill). I burn fires easily 4 nights a week and figure if I'm burning I might as well be heating!

My uncle owns a Jotul 450C and a buddy owns a regency insert and they both rave about them.

My wife is concerned that perhaps our living room is too small for an insert... The house is a 1200' sq ft cape, 2 bedrooms up and 2 down. The LR with fireplace is about 16' x 14' and with a small attached DR and 8 foot ceilings.

The fireplace is 35" x 26" x 22" at its deepest. Two inserts I am considering are the Jotul 450C kennebec and the Vermont Castings Montpelier.

With such a small LR the couches are pretty close to the fireplace. We sit about 7' in front of the hearth.

Attached are 2 pictures to give you an idea of the size of the room. The first was from when we bought the house and second is after some remodeling I did, hence the difference in look of the fireplace.

Any advice you guys may have is appreciated and thanks in advance!

Newbie here.  Help me convince my wife we need an insert!

Newbie here.  Help me convince my wife we need an insert!

Why are you not considering the Jotul Winterport as well - it is a small space...

How wide is the hearth in front of the fireplace. Adding an insert may require it to be extended.

Matt