Newbie here! Should I do it or not?

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Anne In TN

Hearth Supporter
Oct 8, 2010
TN
Hi,

I am new here. I need your help. Here is my situation:

We have a fireplace that is no longer functional either for wood or gas because of an unrepairable defect. It has a huge stone hearth and a fantastic mantle beautifully decorated. I'd say that the hearth and mantle are the focal point of our house.

Shortly after we first moved in (9 years ago), In anticipation of a long electrical outage, we bought a propane Vanguard heater and had it installed in front of the opening to the firebox which has a glass screen in front of it. We also bought a 500 gallon propane tank that is hooked up to it and a gas stove and genny.

Last Winter, our electricity was cut off so we turned on the Propane heater. After an hour, I could not stand it anymore. My eyes were glazed over and I was sick to my stomach from the fumes. We called the company that installed it and they came out to take a look and make sure it was functioning properly. It was.

Since then, I have worried about what would happen if the electricity cut off for a long period of time. I just cannot stand that propane heater.