Newbie here - with questions.

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

g8rnbft

Hearth Supporter
Feb 22, 2009
Beaufort S.C.
Have been reading the forums here for a few hours to see what its all about. Great site and I am glad I found it. I purchased a new to me stove yesterday off Craigs List - and have a few questions - should be a piece of cake for the knowledgable posters here.

Anyway - the stove is a Sears model 143.84521 - Early American Franklin Stove.
It looks exactly like the Vogelzang Model FS 260E.
But there are differences that I am interested in understanding.

The Vogelzang website says their model FS 260 E is ALL CAST IRON. The stove I have has cast iron front/doors - but the rest is plate steel.
Vogelzang says the vent outlet can be top or back mounted - mine is top only.

Did Vogelzang allow Sears to use their face/doors or did someone do a different casting for Sears so they could market a knock-off?

As far as condition of what I bought - there is some surface rust but nothing serious - I will look into having the whole thing sandblasted to remove multiple coats of old ill-applied paint and scale.

Also - Sears parts shows the bottom plate as insulated - this stove does not have any insulation - can the bottom plate be poured with refractory?

Again - love the site, and thanks in advance for the help.

There have been many 'Franklin' stoves made through the years... no one has a license or patent on the design.

(As a matter of fact, it bears little (functional) resemblance to Franklin's original fireplace.)