Newbie here

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Oldman47

Minister of Fire
Jan 19, 2015
Central Illinois
Just a quick introduction.
I am completely new to wood burning and to this forum. I am in the process of building my own home and am looking at using a Napoleon 1100 model stove as an emergency backup to my ground source heat pump. So far I have installed the chimney and have met all requirements listed by Selkirk in their literature. My next steps will be installing the floor protection around the stove area and then setting the stove in place. Since this is a new very well insulated home I expect to need to have outside combustion air so I am working in that direction also. I have some wood, ash, that has been drying for about 2 years now in my backyard that needs to be split and transported to my new home. I seriously do not expect my wood stove to ever become my primary heat source but do think it would be nice to run it on the colder days of the year so my water furnace does not need to work as hard. I own 40 acres, mostly wooded, so I expect to pick up a few new dead falls each year and to cut and split them as fuel without the need to actually drop any trees. I am in the process of acquiring splitting tools and already own a Stihl 024 chain saw.