newbie hi..

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

frodo

Hearth Supporter
Jan 7, 2009
bude ms
hello.. i am a newbie, a green horn...floursant greeen...
grew up around fireplaces,had a gas fireplace , but due to the cost of propane last year
i am thinking, about installing a wood stove to help out on the cost of the fuel
i live in the country, built this house. i am thinking a pellet would be the best for thee enviroment
but, i live in the woods, why buy a ton of something when all i gotta do is go get it
so wood it is. now...what brand..this is what leads me here. i am not a money pit, or i wouldn't be looking into a wood stove, the cheapest i could find on line was a volgelzang durango model#
tr008 with blower, says it can heat 1800 sq ft, my place is 1500 sq ft
i figure to put this in the living room, and use the propane wall heaters in the other end of the house
maybe we will meet somewhere in the middle
the store that carries this heater is northern tool an equipment
does any body have any advice on the type i have chosen? is it worth a damn?
know of a cheaper and better?

I'm new here too, but you need to ask yourself  this:  Do you really want to have more in your chimney than your stove.  Get a better stove and let it pay for itself over time.  Check into getting an end of season deal.  This is a great site, use the search feature and have fun learning, if you can't find the answer there are many on here to help you.