Newbie look for advice on damper modification for flexible liner install

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

jaychino415

Jan 31, 2013
san bruno, ca
Hi, I am a newbie looking to get a lopi freedom insert with 6" Stainless steel flexible liner installed. I don't mind doing the dirty work. I have read lots of post that some use torches, hacksaws, sawzall, chisels, pliers, safety glass and respiratory to remove/modify their dampers. How long did it take the dyi-ers to do the own installs?

My 411 in my fireplace damper area: it has a taper to it (see pic) and my chimney has an oval clay liner.
The oval liner is large enough to take a 6" liner with insulation wrapped around it.

I believe my smoke shelf is offset from clay liner not afraid to take down some bricks to make room for liner.

Any tips/comments?

Attachments

• 20130927_212205.jpg
    20130927_212205.jpg
    260.8 KB · Views: 172
  • 20130927_211825.jpg
    20130927_211825.jpg
    161.5 KB · Views: 137
At my BIL's, I didn't have a torch but the Sawzall made pretty short work of it.

Reactions: jaychino415
Yep... I'd keep the torch away from the masonry. Remove damper, then recip saw (saws-all) or angle grinder is the way to go for cutting the frame, as needed.

Smallest dimension on your oval clay would need to be 8" or more, for a blanket-wrapped 6" liner. Offsets make pulling tough, but unless they leave a cross-section below 8", you should be fine.

recip saw (saws-all) or angle grinder is the way to go for cutting the frame