Newbie Trying to Figure out How to Run Blaze King

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Parallax

Minister of Fire
Dec 2, 2013
Bellingham, WA
Well, the old BK performance thread was closed so I'm starting a new one.

I'm new to wood stoves and Blaze Kings and find myself with so many questions. This morning I'm wondering how long I should get discernible chimney smoke after a reload. It's been about a half an hour and there's still plenty of smoke. After reloading, I turned the thermostat full up. It had fallen out of the active zone so I ran it with the cat disengaged for about ten minutes until it was back up well into the active range, then engaged the cat and turned the thermostat down to 2 1/2. The smoke throttled way back (from full smoke dragon status without cat) but there's still more than enough to see it coming steadily from the stove pipe.

For what it's worth, the weather is rainy, about 65 degrees. How long before the smoke should stop? Also, what causes the stove to smoke with the cat engaged? I'm sorry for my ignorance. I want to learn to run this thing in the best way possible. Clearly, I'm not there yet.

Man how can you stand a fire with the outside temps as high as they are! lol

But to answer a question or 3 you can bring the cat up to temp with the by pass closed. Start fire ,let it burn for maybe a few mins then close by pass.
The stove will work way diff(better) when it gets cold out again.
If there is tons of smoke in the box the cat can't eat it fast enough because the residency time is not long enough is one factor.