newbie with a questions about rigid liners and insulation in old (1800's) chimneys

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

nscarnati

Hearth Supporter
Sep 25, 2008
Baltimore, MD
I have a few questions that I've searched the forums for answers to numerous times, and can't seem to find answers relevant to my case, so I'd appreciate any help .

Background:
I have an old house (1880) that has a straight down flue-less chimney with zero bends, and the interior dimensions of the chimney are approximately 18"x18" which will make a rigid liner install pretty easy. I'm new to woodburning and just bought a used jotul 100 woodstove. I repointed the brick at the top of the chimney that I had access too and added some more courses of brick to reach the 3' above the roofline code requirement. I'm planning to get a rigid liner, since it's a straight shot, but not sure whether to get a single or double lined for a few reasons that are unique to my situation. The stove will sit inside the fireplace (which is only 13" deep) a couple inches from the back wall of it (stove vents vertically)

Single-wall pro/cons for my specific situation:
- Since pipe is cheaper