nOOb here please help with ideas (have stove need help with install)

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

lotust

Dec 3, 2007
ny
Hi guys im a carpenter by trade. I want to install this lange stove that I got from my grandpa (passed away few years back) I have a unheated single story portch attached to my 2 story home. I would love to get this baby up and running. I priced some 2 wall stainless at the local "wood box" store. They quote me 1600$ for the 20ft straight run up threw the portch pitched roof up past the 2nd floor. My portch is only 8 feet deep. But Im thinking about going out one of the porth windows and then out 2-3 feet and then up the distance for code. This would be visable to all my neighbors (im on a corner lot)

here are some pics.

12-2-07LLANGEstovefromgrandpa009.jpg

12-2-07LLANGEstovefromgrandpa017.jpg

12-2-07LLANGEstovefromgrandpa015.jpg

the portch and house (old pic)

11-07-200658FuocoRdOurHouse009.jpg

11-07-200658FuocoRdOurHouse010.jpg

I just found the specks of this unit. This is a great fourm BTW.

https://www.hearth.com/econtent/index.php/wiki/Lange_Stoves/

No, a window installation will not do, especially for a carpenter! Also, making the 90 degree upward turn will ruin your draft somewhat.

I have a similar situation, and the only thing I can do is go straight up, and then pass the other roofline (which you must do if within 10 feet of it!).

Anything else will give you draft and smoke trouble.....for certain!

$1600 for 20 feet of pipe!!!!

Either the price has sky-rocketed for that stuff or they charge too much.