Not reaching temp

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Rembo

Feb 25, 2009
Glenside Pa.
This is my first year with the EKO 40 and I haven't been able to reach a temp above 168. I have adjusted my primary air adjustment to just less than 1/2 in. secondaries are at 3 trns air inlet is set at an inch and a 1/4, fan speed is at 50. I usually take my temp up to 150 when starting then start gasing. But my temp just doesn't go up. I've tried various settings and nothing works.

Does it just keep running and running or does it ever go to idle?
What do you have the temp set at ?
Does it gas like a torch out of control ?

What is your wood supply like old and dry or questionable

you could throw in some kiln dried wood and give it run to eliminate the wood supply but if the wood is good , it never idles and the temp is set to 180 or above
try opening the primaries up to a bit say 9/16 or 5/8 keep the primaries at 3 and up the fan speed a little at a time and see where you get a real strong gasification where it shoots out the door and up the front of the boiler and the temp on the boiler will shoot up from there.
BTW take the load off for the test so the house is not calling for heat while you are testing.