OAK - My dealers perspective.

Post in 'The Pellet Mill - Pellet and Multifuel Stoves' started by gerryger, Oct 24, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Jim H.

    Jim H.
    Expand Collapse
    Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2008
    Messages:
    393
    Likes Received:
    56
    Loc:
    N.E. Pa. (Northampton County)
    I noticed last night that I am hotter sitting in my recliner this year then last.....I actually had it set a few degrees warmer on the stove last year....so stove turned down a few degrees and I am warmer......could it be the OAK???? :) LOL It is, it is! YEAH!!!!
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature

    Helpful Sponsor Ads!





  2. GrahamInVa

    GrahamInVa
    Expand Collapse
    Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2011
    Messages:
    513
    Likes Received:
    26
    Loc:
    Eastern, Virginia
    [​IMG]
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  3. gerryger

    gerryger
    Expand Collapse
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2011
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    2
    Loc:
    CT
    Well my OAK finally came in and I just finished installing it. My first impression is that the flame seems more vigorous and whiter which I think is good. I will post later regarding any improvements in room temperature and hopefully the end of the cool drafts circulating throughout the room. I would really like to seal off the gaps on the Santa Fe to prevent the room air from getting in the combustion chamber. Anyone have any tips on how to do that. On the Santa Fe there are gaps running along the bottom edge of each side panel.
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  4. HEMI

    HEMI
    Expand Collapse
    Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2009
    Messages:
    465
    Likes Received:
    9
    Loc:
    connecticut
    I use OAK for one simple reason.........without it all your doing is taking the air in your house that u already heated and sending it outside
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  5. SmokeyTheBear

    SmokeyTheBear
    Expand Collapse
    Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    Messages:
    13,363
    Likes Received:
    1,662
    Loc:
    Standish, ME
    Can you snap some pictures and start a new thread named OAKing a Quad Santa Fe by posting those pictures and asking for advise. Never having seen the insides of the beast with covers off or open, the OAK installed, and those gaps you are talking about I'd be afraid I might suggest something that would also hurt the convection airflow.

    There are tons of sources of metal plate and high temperature sealants that can be used , but you might want something that can be removed.
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  6. DexterDay

    DexterDay
    Expand Collapse
    Guest

    High temp silicone or the 3M high temp tape (shiny stuff) will do a good job. Wont see temps over 500* where its located.

    Did your stove have to use the long "J" looking bracket in the kit? I just fixed a forum members Santa Fe and could have gave them them the bracket they needed, but threw the rest of the kit out (stupid, I know). Then they would have just needed to by a simple $30 OAK. Oh well.
     
  7. krooser

    krooser
    Expand Collapse
    Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2008
    Messages:
    2,423
    Likes Received:
    77
    Loc:
    Waupaca, WI
    I guess all those high efficiency NG furnaces that were installed in the last 25 years should have their outside air intakes rerouted into the home... obviously Lennox, Rheem, etc have no idea how to design/install a heating appliance.

    The OP's dealer is living in the past...

    If you have multiple appliances in your home that need oxygen to operate...water heater, dryer, furnace, etc (not to mention people!) they all compete for the available oxygen... if you add a pellet stove to the mix there could be a shortage of oxygen. maybe not in a drafty old barn but in a well insulated home... you can figure out the consequences yourself.
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  8. gerryger

    gerryger
    Expand Collapse
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2011
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    2
    Loc:
    CT
    No I did not need the "Channel Bracket". It also came with a couple of plates that I did not need also. Can't see paying for these items if they are not required. Also the 2" flex hose that came with the kit was not long enough. I had to order a new 5' piece. The total cost for everything was about $140. How could I have done this for $30. I wanted to build my own but couldn't find 2" flex duct anywhere. I had to buy the longer 5' flex from the person who sold me the kit (e-bay).

    I'll try that 3m high temp tape.
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page