1. Welcome Hearth.com Guests and Visitors - Please enjoy our forums!
    Hearth.com GOLD Sponsors who help bring the site content to you:
    Hearthstone Soapstone and Cast-Iron stoves( Wood, Gas or Pellet Stoves and Inserts)

P35i 6 blink status problem

Post in 'The Pellet Mill - Pellet and Multifuel Stoves' started by Mooselook, Jan 4, 2013.

  1. Mooselook

    Mooselook New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2013
    Messages:
    10
    Loc:
    SW New Hampshire
    I've been having sluggish performance for over a year and have struggled with the 6 blink status on my P35i whenever I ran the fan anywhere above low. I was cleaning the entire unit front and back each week with only a slight performance boost.

    I noticed the front gasket on the hopper lid was pushed into the unit but didn't think much of it until I stumbled upon this exchange. Thank you Mike49024 for the advice. I temporarily replaced the front gasket with a homemade gasket I cut from a hot water pipe insulating sleeve. I haven't seen a flame so big since I bought it two years ago. Ahhh. I'm finally warm in my office!

    Helpful Sponsor Ads!





  2. Mike49024

    Mike49024 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2010
    Messages:
    35
    Loc:
    SW Michigan
    No problem, glad I could help!

    It's strange, haven't been on this site in months until today and just stumbled upon this post.

    Nice to have it be such a simple fix!
    Mooselook likes this.
  3. Tim Linden

    Tim Linden Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2012
    Messages:
    113
    Loc:
    Rhode Island
    Yeah the info hear is so great that when they installed my P35i I basically
    said don't bother explaining everything cuz I already know from reading here LOL

    (I read every post that mentions P35i or Harman ;-) )
  4. old colony

    old colony Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Loc:
    So. Shore, MA
    Same thing here today in MA, Service guy worked on it 2.5 hrs checking everything else, and had 2 different Harman folks on the line. The second one told him about the gasket, which i'd mentioned last year to them when the cleaning happened but didn't seem to be too big an issue at the time i guess. It seems that it is an identified problem because they are supposed to come back with a new lid assembly at no charge sometime down the road. The guy said there was a technical bulletin of some kind that went around to all the dealers. Glad my stove guy stuck with it though,and put in a chunk of the rope-type gasket for now no charge for the whole deal. I too have the biggest hottest flame i've had probably since 2011, since 2012 was so warm and i didn't really notice.
    Mooselook likes this.
  5. Mooselook

    Mooselook New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2013
    Messages:
    10
    Loc:
    SW New Hampshire
    I just returned from my stove shop, Heartline in Jaffrey, NH, and learned that many of the P35i's are under a warranty recall for this issue. Harman will replace the entire hopper lid but it requires the stove to be brought to the dealer. Check with your dealer to see if your serial number is covered. I looked at the latest P35i today and the gasket is completely clear of the hinge edge. If you can't get your insert to the dealer yourself, my dealer, at least, is happy to pick it up for me...for $150. Yikes!!
  6. old colony

    old colony Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Loc:
    So. Shore, MA
    That's ridiculous ! So a warranty repair becomes a $150 fee for you? They should absolutely be able to do this onsite - my guys are trying to set up an appt to come out (still - they are about an hour away and not in the neighborhood much). Did Harman or your dealer say why the whole stove needed to come in simply for a lid replacement? Also if you have one of the non-black Harmans (I have GF Brown), make sure they order the right color replacement !! Mine still working fine with the chunk-a-rope gasket for the last 2+ months since my last post.
  7. Mooselook

    Mooselook New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2013
    Messages:
    10
    Loc:
    SW New Hampshire
    It's a drag I have to bring it in, for sure. Looking at the lid, it looks like they have to cut the weld, and then weld on a new lid. Probably not something you want done in your living room. !!! For the short term, they gave me a length of gasket to replace the section that has been sucked into the gap between the heat exchanger and the hopper.
  8. fmsm

    fmsm Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2011
    Messages:
    583
    Loc:
    South of Boston MA
    Jeez, I fixed mine with a tube of high temp silicone in about 5 minutes.
  9. Mooselook

    Mooselook New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2013
    Messages:
    10
    Loc:
    SW New Hampshire
    Do you find the silicone being pushed under the lid into the void above the heat exchanger?
  10. old colony

    old colony Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Loc:
    So. Shore, MA
    Hmm that is weird - they never mentioned anything like that to me, it was just like 'Ok we got the part in, let's schedule', etc (?)
    Now I think I need to call them and clarify.
  11. fmsm

    fmsm Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2011
    Messages:
    583
    Loc:
    South of Boston MA
    Not a
    t all. I used the silicone more as an adhesive to secure the original foam.

Share This Page