papabear fisher

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

papabear276

Aug 12, 2014
Virginia
I am new to burning wood so i have a few questions.

1. I have a 1,600 square foot 1 level house with a full basement. (basement not included in square footage) I am thinking about buying a papabear fisher stove to put in my basement. Will this stove be to big?

2. What should I look for when inspecting/cleaning my chimney?

get a sweep to look at the chimney and drop a camera. That is the only way to really know the condition. Is the basement finished? Regardless i dont think it will be to big the basement will probably be pretty hot though

Cement block walls compared to insulated finished walls makes a huge difference. Circulation is the comfort factor. You want rising heat through floor openings near the stove, and dropping cooler air away from the stove. A small fan in floor vent helps push down return air, causing naturally rising hot air to rise faster.
Chimney construction masonry or metal?
For that stove, flue should be 6 inch round or equivalent in square inch area. (28 1/4 square inches in diameter) If you have an 8 inch flue or larger, it needs to be lined with a 6 inch, preferably insulated stainless liner anyway.