Pics inside- is my set up a good candidate for an add on furnace?

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

tlhfirelion

Feeling the Heat
Aug 6, 2007
image.jpeg
image.jpeg
image.jpeg
im new to the world of indoor furnaces and am doing my due diligence to see if my system is a good candidate for an add on furnace. I have a partial basement and all my ductwork in either on the basement ceiling or under the floor of the upstairs in the crawlspace. (Please see pics). If I understand the piping correctly, the hot air from the furnace would come out of that and into the return air supply before the indoor air handler, correct? Now, the return air set up in my home is set up using a void in the walls as part of the enclosure. It's covered in metal on the face and aluminum tape has it sealed. One of my questions is is that type of set up, with the exposed wood inside part of the the return air is a problem for an add on furnace. My other question is what are your thoughts on my set up that you see in the pics. Basically the air handler pushes air up to the trunk and it runs 60' to the other side of the house with flex ductwork shooting off to supply the registers in the floor along the perimeter of the home.

The wall to the left of the water heater is where I plan to core drill a hole and go out and up above the eve with high temp pipe. For reference, the small access door above the ladder is where I took the pic of the crawlspace ductwork. I'll avoid saying anymore at this point as I'm sure I'm being clear as mud. Lol. Thank you for your feedback on helping me think this thru.