problems with keeping a fire going?????

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

mrjeep

Hearth Supporter
Nov 26, 2009
ky
Ok so Im a total noob to wood burning an pyromaniacy. (sp?) :) Heres what I got..... A Nordic Eric Jr and an outside Supervent thats 18 feet tall. So far it drafts fine. I got no smoke rolling in the house and fires are easy to light. But to keeping one rolling (and I do mean rolling) I have to leave the door open. All the vents on the stove are open but it doesnt get enough air to keep a good flame. Did I do something wrong?

how long as your wood been cut / split

Two years or more.... always used it for camping. Just now turned to heat. :)

new stove? maybe the air inlet is blocked

Sounds to me it starts easy then is starved. Open a window and see if your stove is starved for air maybe the home is too tight. Maybe your appliances such as drier,range hood etc are sucking air out making a situation where your stove stops drafting properly because of pull by your other appliances.
The other thing is your stove does not have a good draft at all. If all your "good burning" is done with the door open then you need to address the draft problem. Does this chimney pass the 10ft/2ft/3ft/ rule? Basically is it 2ft above any structure within 10ft. It also has to be 3' above the roof exit.

What type of wood is it, and how big are the splits????

Welcome to the forums!!!

Welcome to the forum Mrjeep.