Propane Tank Storage

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

salecker

Minister of Fire
Aug 22, 2010
Northern Canada
Hi
I'm a total newbie to boilers,have burnt wood in many different types of stoves over the years.I wish i had found this site a year or so ago,i would know more,would have read way more.
Any how i have two 500 gal propane tanks that i would like to use as storage for my Econoburn boiler.I would love to hear from anyone that has used similer tanks.
Some of my questions are,i would like to stack them on top of each other,is this the best?
How many fittings will i need on each tank,and what would be the best locations?
How much spray foam would be optimum to retain maximum BTU's?
What is the best way to plumb them together and into the system?
I'm going to be doing most of this work myself,small town and no tradespeople in town.

Now i have read on here that a lot of people are looking for tanks,so this is some info that may help you find tanks.In Canada there are new Regs for tanks.They now need to be rated to 250#,there are a lot of older tanks only rated to 200#.I talked to one of the propane supliers in the bigest city up here and they told me about the Regulation change.They loaded 4 tanks on my trailer and said they had plenty more if i wanted them.Scrap metal isn't worth much up here,so if you are down south you may have to pay scrap price for them.
Anyhow thanks for any info.Seems like a ton of knowledgeable people on here.I hope to learn from you as i start down the road of a gasifying boiler stoker.
Thanks Thomas