Quadra Fire Sante fe control box issue

Post in 'The Pellet Mill - Pellet and Multifuel Stoves' started by Den-Den, Mar 25, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. TLHinCanada

    TLHinCanada
    Expand Collapse
    Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2011
    Messages:
    257
    Likes Received:
    40
    Loc:
    Canada
    My brother showed how to check the spark on a bike when I was about 8 years old. He put a screwdriver up the cap and asked me to hold it by the shaft while he kicked it over. Its an audible method worked well.
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature

    Helpful Sponsor Ads!





  2. tjnamtiw

    tjnamtiw
    Expand Collapse
    Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    4,432
    Likes Received:
    725
    Loc:
    North Georgia
    Nice guy!!! :)
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  3. Den-Den

    Den-Den
    Expand Collapse
    New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2008
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    Loc:
    WI
    Hi all and thanks so much for help solving my problem and the good read about our good old days :coolsmile: I received my parts from mouser electronics today and I had a bit if a time getting the solder out of the holes till I got my tiny drill bit set for torch tips and reamed out the holes, I soldered in the new relay and fuse. plugged it in and shazam, IT WORKS!!!! Thanks again so much and I still love my Quad stove.
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  4. tjnamtiw

    tjnamtiw
    Expand Collapse
    Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    4,432
    Likes Received:
    725
    Loc:
    North Georgia
    That's GREAT NEWS!!!! That sure was cheaper than buying a new box. Visit Radio Shack and ask for a 'solder sucker' and/or metal braiding that sucks the molten solder into the braid. Both work. Actually, if you are going to get any more parts from Mouser, I'm sure they sell them.

    Again, glad your stove is back from the dead. As soon as my box is out of warranty, I'm cracking that baby open and put spares on the shelf!
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  5. heat seeker

    heat seeker
    Expand Collapse
    Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2011
    Messages:
    2,575
    Likes Received:
    376
    Loc:
    Northern CT
    Good idea - that way, you'll never need them! :cheese:

    That's what happens to me, too! If I have them, I'll never need them. That's my preventative maintenance program. :lol:
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  6. tjnamtiw

    tjnamtiw
    Expand Collapse
    Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    4,432
    Likes Received:
    725
    Loc:
    North Georgia
    It REALLY works!!! As long as I can remember where I put them!
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  7. Den-Den

    Den-Den
    Expand Collapse
    New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2008
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    Loc:
    WI
    And you won't find them till you order new ones and they arrive!!!!
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  8. tjnamtiw

    tjnamtiw
    Expand Collapse
    Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    4,432
    Likes Received:
    725
    Loc:
    North Georgia
    You have me pegged!!!!! %-P
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  9. turbotech

    turbotech
    Expand Collapse
    Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2010
    Messages:
    278
    Likes Received:
    0
    Loc:
    NE
    I try to keep stuff together. If you have some good electrical tape you could tape them right to the control box because they don't take up much space.

    Don't forget the 8 pin DIP socket. It makes it a lot easier to replace the chip if it fails again. No soldering.
     
  10. tjnamtiw

    tjnamtiw
    Expand Collapse
    Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    4,432
    Likes Received:
    725
    Loc:
    North Georgia
    10-4 on taping them inside the stove. I already have my spare adjustable snap switch in there! Definitely go for the DIP socket. I always used them when I was building stuff. I'm a Ham so I built some of my own aux equipment back when I could actually think straight. Now I'm amazed that I ever dreamed up some of the stuff!
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  11. SmokeyTheBear

    SmokeyTheBear
    Expand Collapse
    Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    Messages:
    13,363
    Likes Received:
    1,662
    Loc:
    Standish, ME
    You're a ham all right ;-) .
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  12. tjnamtiw

    tjnamtiw
    Expand Collapse
    Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    4,432
    Likes Received:
    725
    Loc:
    North Georgia
    I plead guilty!!! ;-P
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page