1. Welcome Hearth.com Guests and Visitors - Please enjoy our forums!
    Hearth.com GOLD Sponsors who help bring the site content to you:
    Hearthstone Soapstone and Cast-Iron stoves( Wood, Gas or Pellet Stoves and Inserts)

QuadraFire 1200 Classic Bay Startup Issue

Post in 'The Pellet Mill - Pellet and Multifuel Stoves' started by Brad Jahnke, Dec 9, 2012.

  1. Brad Jahnke

    Brad Jahnke New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2012
    Messages:
    8
    We have a QuadraFire Classic Bay 1200 that wont seem to start up properly. When we start it up, the auger turns about a half turn, then we hear two clicks and the auger turns off. About 10 seconds later the auger will turn another half turn and turn off again. We clean the stove daily before starting it up, but may have missed something. I read about a vacuum issue that will turn the auger off, but cant seem to figure out exactly what needs to be cleaned. Any amount of insight would be appreciated. It's 33 degrees outside and only 60 inside, and we really cant afford to have our dealer come out and take a look at it.

    Helpful Sponsor Ads!





  2. begreen

    begreen Mooderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2005
    Messages:
    49,100
    Loc:
    South Puget Sound, WA
    How handy are you? First thing is to check #2 snap switch for continuity. If it's good, check the vacuum switch. Start with the door seal to be sure that it's not sucking excess air through a failed gasket. Then check that the switch is closing when the combustion fan is running. If that all checks out, the next thing is to clean out the feed tube and make sure there isn't a jam in the auger.
  3. rparker

    rparker Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2011
    Messages:
    245
    Loc:
    Vermont
    Could be something as simple as a clogged vacuum tube? Take the tube off of the vacuum switch (stove OFF) and blow through it back into the firebox. Vacuum switch on the CB1200 is attached to the back of the stove on the left side.
    This has become part of my cleaning procedure.
  4. Don2222

    Don2222 Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2010
    Messages:
    7,108
    Loc:
    Salem NH
    Hello

    I had a CB1200 FS. Those stoves are built like a tank so it must be something simple like what they said above! Good Luck.
  5. DexterDay

    DexterDay Guest

    If its turning and clicking. I would put money on the collar not be tight.

    Tighten the set screw on the auger.

    Might be vacuum related. But don't think it would be intermittent
  6. Brad Jahnke

    Brad Jahnke New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2012
    Messages:
    8
    OK...Just an update - and no, we still don't have heat. My father called the dealer and he suggested we start with cleaning the heat exchanger. Done. No Heat. Also suggested replacing the door gasket. Done. No Heat. Also suggested bypassing the vacuum unit. Done. No Heat. Just tried tightening the set screw on the auger. Done. No Heat. Our dealer is quoting us no earlier than CHRISTMAS for a service call. *AnGrY*...Any other suggestions please let us know, it's really starting to get cold :(

    Nothing seems to have changed. We light it manually, throw the switch, and nothing. About 1 full turn from the auger...and it puts itself out.
  7. DexterDay

    DexterDay Guest

    Where abouts are you located? Are you handy with video? Can you upload to YouTube?

    The call light comes on? Correct?
    Then ignitor glows? Correct?
    The combustion blower is running? Correct?
    There is no bridging in the auger flight or drop chute (long pellet stuck sideways)?

    Unplug the stove, then plug it back in. What color was the light in the control box? And how many flashes?
    (The control box light will be seen inside the right hand side of hopper/look through crack/pic below)

    2012-12-10_19-29-05_224.jpg
  8. DexterDay

    DexterDay Guest

    Is the stove plugged into a good surge protector?
  9. Brad Jahnke

    Brad Jahnke New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2012
    Messages:
    8
    We're located in Michigan. I'm quite handy with Video, and can upload to Youtube.

    Here's the thing, we've been through 3 igniters in 2 years, my dad is too cheap to buy a new one so we light manually (which we were assured by the dealer that this was okay).

    Normally here's what happens,

    Open Door, throw in a few pellets, little lighter fluid, light the fire, shut the door, wait 45 seconds, turn thermostat on high, everything works.

    Here's whats happening now...

    Open Door, throw in a few pellets, little lighter fluid, light the fire, shut the door, wait 45 seconds, turn thermostat on high, combustion fan comes on, auger wont feed.

    Unplugged the unit, plugged it back in, auger turns 1/2 turn. stops. Auger turns another 1/2 turn, stops. Looking inside the control box, i saw 3 individual flashes of a blue light.

    Let me know what other information you guys need. Currently the vaccum box is bypassed.
  10. Brad Jahnke

    Brad Jahnke New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2012
    Messages:
    8
    Yes, it's plugged into a great surge protector.
  11. tjnamtiw

    tjnamtiw Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    3,925
    Loc:
    North Georgia
    Could it be the infamous auger turning backwards???
  12. SmokeyTheBear

    SmokeyTheBear Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    Messages:
    12,227
    Loc:
    Standish, ME
    Auger motor or the capacitor on it is one possibility.

    Dexter does this version of the quad use a capacitor in the auger circuit.

    Also make certain there is nothing that is jamming the auger.
  13. Brad Jahnke

    Brad Jahnke New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2012
    Messages:
    8
    I guess i failed to mention that i removed the auger motor cover, cleaned in there, cleaned the auger, cleaned the drop chute, and everything else i could think of. Nothing was jammed in there, it just seems like there's something in the initial startup cycle thats not allowing the auger motor to turn? IDK but if anyone near Grand Rapids Michigan wants to come trobleshoot this thing, you'd be doing us a huge favor lol! I'm about done with our current dealer and service provider.
  14. DexterDay

    DexterDay Guest

    What year is this stove?

    Yes Smokey it is a model that would need the capacitor? ( tjnamtiw may be spot on).

    Just because your stove may have been bought X # of years ago? It may have been on the floor or stock room for X # of years?
  15. Brad Jahnke

    Brad Jahnke New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2012
    Messages:
    8
    Its a 2008 installed in 2009.
  16. DexterDay

    DexterDay Guest

    The possibilities are down to several things. (But NOT limited to).

    The capacitor (easy fix and cheap)
    The auger (pretty easy but gonna cost ya)
    The control box (easy to replace but hard on the pocketbook)

    Have you tried hooking the auger up to a patch cord

    ****(Caution : This is dealing with 110v and can and will kill/hurt you if you are not careful)****
    You can unplug the stove, then unplug the 2 wires to the auger. Then hook an old lamp cord with the ends stripped and corresponding connectors applied to ends)
    This will determine if the auger is out to lunch? And its the board or capacitor
  17. mralias

    mralias Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2008
    Messages:
    893
    Loc:
    MA
    Is that the capacitor on the right hand side in this pic of the CB1200i auger that you are making reference too?

    Attached Files:

  18. SmokeyTheBear

    SmokeyTheBear Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    Messages:
    12,227
    Loc:
    Standish, ME
    Brad,

    I have one thing for you to try, with the stove off and unplugged remove and then reseat the controller, they have been known to have their contacts oxidize over time.

    Retry lighting the stove after doing that.

    Dexter is that control board giving the proper flash code for his stove?
  19. SmokeyTheBear

    SmokeyTheBear Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    Messages:
    12,227
    Loc:
    Standish, ME
    It is in the wiring going to the auger.
  20. DexterDay

    DexterDay Guest

    Nevermind.... The stove should have the capacitor then. Mine is an 08 model and it is installed on mine.

    Also. Looking at my auger wires. There are 4 wires. Does yours look like this?

    Attached Files:

  21. DexterDay

    DexterDay Guest


    Yes. If these flashes are seconds apart. If they are all rapidly? Then maybe not?

    Its 3 flashes. One every 10 seconds or so
  22. Brad Jahnke

    Brad Jahnke New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2012
    Messages:
    8
    Yeah sorry, one every ten seconds or so. And as far as the wires, that's what they look like. The only time we can get the auger to turn at all is when we unplug it and plug it back in.
  23. tjnamtiw

    tjnamtiw Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    3,925
    Loc:
    North Georgia
    Did you ever tighten the set screw on the auger motor/auger attachment point, as DexterDay asked? The one blink every ten seconds is correct according to the 'cheat sheet' I have.
  24. slls

    slls Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2008
    Messages:
    1,457
    Loc:
    central maine Lat 45
    DD your stove didn't come with a view port?

    [​IMG]
  25. DexterDay

    DexterDay Guest

    No... Now I am extremely disappointed :( I want one. Mine is an 08 model as well :(

Share This Page