1. Welcome Hearth.com Guests and Visitors - Please enjoy our forums!
    Hearth.com GOLD Sponsors who help bring the site content to you:
    Hearthstone Soapstone and Cast-Iron stoves( Wood, Gas or Pellet Stoves and Inserts)

Quadrafire Castille- how to remove auger please

Post in 'The Pellet Mill - Pellet and Multifuel Stoves' started by QuadraMick, Jan 29, 2013.

  1. QuadraMick

    QuadraMick New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2012
    Messages:
    18
    Loc:
    Morris County NJ
    HI
    Please tell me the secret to taking the auger out, or at least accessing it to the point where I can identify if the right one was put in.

    It is overfeeding

    Thank you

    Yes, the flue the pipes and stove are scubbed clean :)

    Helpful Sponsor Ads!





  2. kinsmanstoves

    kinsmanstoves Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2007
    Messages:
    3,356
    Loc:
    Kinsman, Oh 44428 Brookfield, Oh 44403
    Close the fuel control flapper in the hopper first. Removing the auger will not help on an over feed issue.

    Eric
  3. QuadraMick

    QuadraMick New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2012
    Messages:
    18
    Loc:
    Morris County NJ
    Yeah, Thank you I lowered all the way to the bottom first but no difference , the pot overflows after a 15 minutes or a half hour.

    The auger was recently put in and someone said that overfeeding can be caused by poor draft or having the wrong auger installed.



  4. kinsmanstoves

    kinsmanstoves Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2007
    Messages:
    3,356
    Loc:
    Kinsman, Oh 44428 Brookfield, Oh 44403
    If the pot is filling with unburnt pellets that is an airflow issue.
    1.) clean the exhaust and I do not mean tapping it, clean it. Remove the rear baffles and clean it.
    2.) make sure the ashpan is sealing

    Leave the auger alone.

    Eric
  5. QuadraMick

    QuadraMick New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2012
    Messages:
    18
    Loc:
    Morris County NJ
    Thank you Eric.
    1. The stove has been taken apart and scrubbed clean. The holes in the pot, the cover for the fan removed ,brushed,and vacuumed out, the cubby holes in the back, the pipes taken down [they were 1/3 blocked with soot]. Draft was the main focus- to resolve that first, since that was the varialbe most controllable.
    The stove actually ran fine until the old auger apparently stopped working according to repairman.
    2. I assume ashpan refers to the cirular piece of metal that you pull to let ashes flow into the pan below.That looks snug enough as far as I can tell

    The biggest thing I have learned here is the multitude of places that soot can hide . That may have been the reason the backflow sensor needed to be replaced.


    Currently, the stove starts fine. Occasionally you have to push the feed button on the back at the very start.
    Then it feeds pellets every second or so. In order to run it you have to turn off the thermostat for 10 minutes every 20 minutes or so in order to burn off the pellets piling up in the pot

  6. tjnamtiw

    tjnamtiw Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    3,913
    Loc:
    North Georgia
    I was monitoring the conversation. If the pellets are feeding every second or so, something is definitely wrong with the control. Is your control box clear or opaque? It should be running the auger once every 7 seconds or so. I was confused by the reference to sealing the ashpan too since the pan for the ashes is no where near being sealed! It's about as leaky as possible and makes an OAK a joke on one of these suckers! :) I remember reading a year or more ago about augers with different pitches or 'threads per inch'. It IS possible that they put the wrong one in but if it is true that it feeds every second, then you need to suspect the control box. I wonder if the service guy would swap yours out for another one just to see if that's the problem.

    UPDATE: never mind on the clear box. I see from your earlier post that it's the old one. I can't believe how much they charged you for a snap disk! That's nuts!
    QuadraMick likes this.
  7. DexterDay

    DexterDay Guest

    Have you applied a "patch cord" to the auger and counted the RPM's?

    If the stove is used, it's possible a higher RPM auger was put in? Unlikely...... But possible.

    The auger doesn't need removed to do so. But make sure the RPM is counted.

    On start up, your auger spins for 60 seconds. So open hopper (empty and clean), turn stove on, then count the RPM's in that 60 sec start up feed.
    QuadraMick likes this.
  8. jlupi

    jlupi Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2011
    Messages:
    183
    Loc:
    hudson valley, ny

    If you have an oak connected to the stove w an opening to the outside do you think the suction is likely to take fresh air from there or depressurize the house and pull it through minuscule cracks around windows/doors?
  9. QuadraMick

    QuadraMick New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2012
    Messages:
    18
    Loc:
    Morris County NJ
    my rpms is 2.4
    Is that the right one for 2004 Castille or should it be 2.0???
  10. slls

    slls Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2008
    Messages:
    1,457
    Loc:
    central maine Lat 45
    2.0 RPM
    QuadraMick likes this.
  11. QuadraMick

    QuadraMick New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2012
    Messages:
    18
    Loc:
    Morris County NJ
    Well if I am really supposed to have 2rpm motor then that would be a clear explanation why my 2.4rpm motor is overfeeding!


  12. DexterDay

    DexterDay Guest

    Are you Positive its 2.4? Double checked? Always helps to eliminate the Human Error factor?

    If you get 2.4 several times, then it is wrong. 2.0 for Quads as SLLS stated
    QuadraMick likes this.
  13. QuadraMick

    QuadraMick New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2012
    Messages:
    18
    Loc:
    Morris County NJ
  14. tjnamtiw

    tjnamtiw Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    3,913
    Loc:
    North Georgia
    IMHO, the difference in rpm from 2 to 2.4 is NOT going to fill your burnpot
  15. DexterDay

    DexterDay Guest

    I agree with you.. Although

    That would be a 20% increase if it was really 2.0... But it looks like it supposed to be 2.4 RPM anyways (that's the new replacement for old motors)

    So back to the drawing board?!? Is the combustion blower reading full voltage when its running?

    A weak or failing blower will slow things up a bit?
  16. tjnamtiw

    tjnamtiw Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    3,913
    Loc:
    North Georgia
    yep, 20% but still with a decent airflow as you say he should just get a healthy flame which could be throttled back with the gate. But if they are recommended them as replacements then like you also said, that's not the problem. If the pitch of the auger is for something else though that could pull a lot more pellets up the feed. I don't have a clue if other stoves use similar augers though. We're grasping at straws here for sure.

Share This Page