1. Welcome Hearth.com Guests and Visitors - Please enjoy our forums!
    Hearth.com GOLD Sponsors who help bring the site content to you:
    Hearthstone Soapstone and Cast-Iron stoves( Wood, Gas or Pellet Stoves and Inserts)
    Caluwe - Passion for Fire and Water ( Pellet and Wood Hydronic and Space Heating)

Quadrafire Classic Bay Keeps Shutting Down

Post in 'The Pellet Mill - Pellet and Multifuel Stoves' started by Gman12, Mar 19, 2013.

  1. Gman12

    Gman12 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2011
    Messages:
    69
    Loc:
    Rutland, MA
    Ok, I tried my best to clean the vent coming from the outside into the house that connects to stove. I removed the combustion blower and cleaned good, put on a new gasket and vacuumed out a good portion of hopper. I also removed the vacuum hose and blew a can of air into it and put back on. I started the stove back up and it took prolly 3-4 times to get the pellets to feed. It went for 15 minutes and shut down again. I also believe I smelled smoke coming from the venting coming out of the stove that goes out the wall. Hope I didn't mess one of the pipes cleaning it. I worked on it since I got home from work at 4 and seems like I got no where with what I did. I'm frustrated and feel like I'm gonna have to spend money to get someone to come clean and inspect it.

    Helpful Sponsor Ads!





  2. DexterDay

    DexterDay Guest

    Did you take any venting apart?

    Have you double checked the inside of the ceramic cover? Any ash inside it?

    Also, Quads have been known to have auger REVERSE. WATCH THE AUGER. What year is your stove (look inside hopper on back wall)

    Last thing I can think of??? Eliminate the t-stat to see.if you have a short in the wires? When you do this, have the entire.hopper lid up, so you can watch auger? There is a capacitor that wasn't on older models?

    Make a 6" long jumper, and remove the 2 stat wires and install the Jumper. This will make the stove Run CONSTANTLY, unless a safety goes off in the stove (overtemp, vac switch, T/C, etc). Then you can check the snap discs? Then voltage to the blowers? The auger (this one slipped my mind. I should have had you look two days ago).
  3. Gman12

    Gman12 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2011
    Messages:
    69
    Loc:
    Rutland, MA
    I didn't take the venting apart at all. I blew a small air blower from inside where I removed combustion blower. Then I did push from the outside in towards the stove with the linteater brush that I attached below and blew the air blower out again hoping to loosen any ash. Not sure if that would have done anything to the inside piping to make anything loose but I definitely smelled some smoke. I checked the auger and it was each time turning the correct way. It drops pellets fine now, just doesn't stay running. I can't see when my stove was made because the sticker on the back wall is really faded from the middle down.
  4. DexterDay

    DexterDay Guest

    Does the convection blower come on every time?

    Did you run through the chart I posted? Does the light go Green, then Red? The Red light is key to the stove running.

    Jump the Stat hook up on the back. This will eliminate all wiring issues and stat issues. What stat are you using? How close is it to the stove??
  5. Gman12

    Gman12 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2011
    Messages:
    69
    Loc:
    Rutland, MA
    When I plugged the stove back in to test. The Combustion Blower is coming on each time it looks like during start up, I don't think I saw the Convection Blower moving at all. I unplugged the stove, waited and plugged back in. This time I got a 1 quick Blue Light, then it paused and I got 6 Blue Lights. No red light this time. Before I did the cleaning, I got the 1 Red Light following that first Blue light. I never got a Green Light, It's always been a Blue color. I'll try the Jump wire tomorrow. I wonder what is causing me not to get the Red Light now. Any ideas from what I did from cleaning? I also have a Skytech Wireless T-Stat.
  6. DexterDay

    DexterDay Guest

    It supppsed.to be just 6 Blue so your fine....

    As for the Green light, please Refer to that Troubleshooting page I posted. The Green light ie only visible during start up. When the fire just starts, the T/C will read 200° and turn the light Green (same area where blue light is). Then, on after, it should turn Red. Its pretty self explanatory, just follow step by step.

    If your convection blower is never kicking on? That may be just it? If the snap disc is shot, or the blower is burnt? Then the stove will quickly hit the 200° overtemp and shut down

    Remove stat (doesnt matter what you have, and if your batteries are dead, then it will shut down too). Remove stat, place jumper in, move heat setting up to Medium, and open feed gate..

    The blower not kicking on is a problem in itself. How comfortable are you working with 120v? Removing the convection blower and running it on q patch cord, will verify if its shot or not? Or you could jump the snap disc? But I would have to look in the manual to see which one (yellow wires or purple wires?).

    Watch the control box at start up, and note the colors while starting.
  7. Gman12

    Gman12 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2011
    Messages:
    69
    Loc:
    Rutland, MA
    Just a quick update, I removed the thermostat and put on the Jumper. Red Light did come on and went stove cycled through steps. Convection blower did come on and is running and stove is feeding pellets. Its been going for about 43 mins so far. Still going to keep an eye on it and check it out. I moved it from Low to Medium when I first started it. I wonder if it was my thermostat that was making it shut down. I only had it for 2 years top and paid good money for that Skytech. I can still smell a little bit of the smoke smell from behind the stove which worries me with having little children in the house. Can that leak Carbon Monoxide or anything harmful into the house? If something was wrong with stove with the jumper on it, would it still shut itself down or continue to run? Thanks again and I'll update again in a bit.
  8. doingitonadime

    doingitonadime New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2013
    Messages:
    99
    Loc:
    shelton,ct
    The jumper makes the stove think the thermostat is calling for heat when you go to turn off the stove make sure you undo the jumper wire do not turn off power as u want the stove to stop calling for heat and cool down on its own otherwise depending on your draft situation most likely fill the room with smoke
  9. DexterDay

    DexterDay Guest

    When did you last change your batteries?

    I change mine twice a yr (beginning of season and mid season). I use the Skytech on my Quad also (3301).

    The wall unit will tell you if those batteries are low. But the receiver wont tell you.

    Change the battrries.. Whats your swing setting at? (1, 2, or 3°?)
  10. heat seeker

    heat seeker Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2011
    Messages:
    1,906
    Loc:
    Northern CT
    You really should have at least one CO detector in the area, preferably more in the house. It sounds like you have a leak in the venting, and that should be fixed. You could use a flashlight in the dark and watch the pipe joints as the stove is starting; look for smoke.
  11. Gman12

    Gman12 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2011
    Messages:
    69
    Loc:
    Rutland, MA
    I changed the batteries last week with brand new ones in the receiver that connects to back of stove and the wireless remote. I'll make sure I remove Jumper when I want to shut it off and not just shut of stove. Is there a way to make my inside venting any better without all the turns and a little straighter? Any recommendations. The back of stove is about 8" high and the vent in wall is about 11" high. Here's a pic of what it looks like now.
    [​IMG][/IMG][​IMG]
  12. DexterDay

    DexterDay Guest

    Was all the black RTV on the inside already?

    How far away is the Reciever from the remote? Have you increased the gain on the receiver? Have you tried to re-Learn it?

    As for Smoke, do as Heat seeker says. On start up is the only time your gonna see it. Use a Very bright light and turn the lights off in the room.
  13. DexterDay

    DexterDay Guest

    Did you recently put that RTV on there? Thats an indicator that you had a leak problem before?

    Why the rise inside also? Why not just keep it level?

    I have the same set up. A 45° then a 90° out the wall. I had to avoid a wall outlet myself. But I kept it level?
  14. Idahokid

    Idahokid Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2010
    Messages:
    115
    Loc:
    coeur d'alene, Idaho
    Awesome trouble shooting tree.My control box stopped turning red.It stays green and stove runs for a bit and then shuts down.It will run on low but no other speed.
  15. Idahokid

    Idahokid Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2010
    Messages:
    115
    Loc:
    coeur d'alene, Idaho
    I cant thank you enough for the trouble shooting tree.I adjusted my t/c and got a red light and we will see what happens.Also the flames look more controlled.That took 30 minutes.I have been at it for 3 days.I finally understood the trouble shooting tree.That what we call it at dealerships.

Share This Page