1. Welcome Hearth.com Guests and Visitors - Please enjoy our forums!
    Hearth.com GOLD Sponsors who help bring the site content to you:
    Hearthstone Soapstone and Cast-Iron stoves( Wood, Gas or Pellet Stoves and Inserts)

Quadrafire model 1000 pellet stove

Post in 'The Pellet Mill - Pellet and Multifuel Stoves' started by Stach17, Dec 23, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Stach17

    Stach17 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    Loc:
    Ontario Ca
    I'm having a problem with my pellet stove and any information would be greatly appreciated. The Quad is hooked up to a
    programmable thermostat . The problem I'm having is through the night when the temperature drops and the red light
    comes on calling for heat the auger won't feed pellets into the pot . In the morning the red light is still on and it's calling for heat
    so I have to hit the restart button and the auger motor will feed pellets and the stove will work good all day. The temperature
    will drop , the red light will come on and the stove will work fine. The next morning the same thing will happen. I've changed
    the combustion motor , the exhaust motor and the auger motor works fine when I test it , I totally took the whole stove
    apart and cleaned it from head to toe, but now I'm at a loss. I contacted the dealer and he was unable to help me , so I'm
    hoping someone out there has run into the same problem.

    tks regards

    Bill

    Helpful Sponsor Ads!





  2. poconoman

    poconoman Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2009
    Messages:
    230
    Loc:
    Pocono Lake, PA
    You took drastic steps in changing all those parts IMO. Dannmarr had a similar problem and the end result was to CLEAN the pot EVERYDAY. It can get built up with clinkers because the igniter is not getting air to start the pellet burn.
  3. Fsappo

    Fsappo Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2008
    Messages:
    3,868
    Loc:
    Central NY
    I dont sell quads but I ran into a similar situation with a Regency pellet stove (made by enviro) It turned out to be the vacuum switch. I still cant for the life of figure out what one had to do with the other. The Regency tech told me to jump the switch, and the thermostat worked fine, replace the vacuum switch and the stove worked fine on the thermostat. Go figure. Just a question..Did your stove ever work good on the thermostat or is this a new installation?
  4. DannMarr

    DannMarr New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    95
    Loc:
    Scranton
    In the morning do you see the igniter on?
    Did any pellets drop inside the pot?
    Is there any clinkers inside the pot?
    The igniter hole may be blocked
    or the clean out plate is not closed completely.
  5. Stach17

    Stach17 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    Loc:
    Ontario Ca
    poconoman

    thanks for the reply but I don't think that's my problem because the auger isn't sending any pellets into the pot. I appreciate the
    reply though. regards

    Bill
  6. Stach17

    Stach17 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    Loc:
    Ontario Ca
    Franks

    I appreciate the quick reply , I thought it might be the vacuum switch but I don't know why it would work fine during the day
    and not through the night. This is not a new installation as I've had the Quad for 14 years and this really is the first time I've
    encountered something I couldn't fix. The vacuum switch isn't very expensive so I'll try getting a new one and see if that
    cures the problem, I'll keep you posted. tks again Bill
  7. kilbury

    kilbury Balls of fire

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2007
    Messages:
    240
    Loc:
    Southern Tier, New York
    Where is your flame height adjustment rod set? It sounds like to me that it is feeding pellets when you restart it. I think it may not be getting hot enough for the thermocouple to sense that there is a fire in the pot, then the pellets just burn out and wait until you restart it. It may have been somewhat "preheated" and that is why it takes off when you restart it. Also have you tested the thermocouple?
  8. DannMarr

    DannMarr New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    95
    Loc:
    Scranton
    Why don't you try jumping the vacuum switch before buying one? If it works during the day, then that should not be the problem. It's also possible that high winds during the night can pressurize the firebox through the venting system and cause loss of vacuum.
    I had your issues and they are gone. This is what I did, I'm not sure which one solved the problem.
    1) I installed an OAK
    2) I replaced the glass gasket
    3) I clean the pot before going to bed.
    4) I cleaned the snap disk
    They all seem to point to a vacuum issue.
    Try the simplest, cheapest fixes before spending unnecessary money.
  9. Stach17

    Stach17 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    Loc:
    Ontario Ca
    I haven't tested the thermocouple but I'm definitely going to do that. I check in the morning and there just doesn't seem to be any
    pellets in the firepot , that led me to believe that it wasn't feeding any into the pot. tks again for the advice , at this point
    I'll try anything. bill
  10. poconoman

    poconoman Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2009
    Messages:
    230
    Loc:
    Pocono Lake, PA
    Stach17, you've practically rebuilt your stove! Why? MOST of the time it's a simple, small problem to adjust and/or fix, but you went overboard IMO. :gulp:
  11. Stach17

    Stach17 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    Loc:
    Ontario Ca
    DannMarr

    I'll give all these a try and see what happens. tks again bill
  12. Stach17

    Stach17 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    Loc:
    Ontario Ca
    The reason I changed the two blowers was because they were getting very noisy so I figured after 14 years they were due to be
    changed. I know what you're saying though, it's unfortunate that the dealer I bought it from knows much less about the
    stove than I do. TYks again for all your help. If I find the answer I'll definitely post it .. bill
  13. btr95

    btr95 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2009
    Messages:
    2
    Loc:
    Western Lower Michigan
    Troubleshooting ideas from my book:


    Call light on. No fire. Out of Fuel Check hopper. Fill with fuel.
    No fuel in firepot. #2 snap disc may be defective. Replace snap disc.
    Vacuum switch not closing, no vacuum. Check exhaust blower is plugged in and
    operating.
    Check vacuum switch is plugged in.
    Check vacuum hose is in good condition,
    clear and connected at both ends.
    Check thermocouple is in good condition
    and plugged in properly.
    Make sure venting system is clean.
    Make sure front door is closed.
    Control box defective. Replace control box.

    Call light on. No fire. Firepot clean-out plate not closed. Check that firepot clean-out plate is fully
    Partially burned fuel in closed.
    firepot. Firepot is dirty (missed ignition). Clean firepot. Make sure there is no clinker
    in the firepot.
    Clinkers may have to be broken up with
    firepot scraper tool or other means.

    Call light on. No fire. Firepot clean-out plate not closed Check that firepot clean-out plate is fully
    Unburned pellets in closed.
    firepot. Firepot is dirty. Clean firepot. Make sure there is not a
    clinker in the firepot. Clinkers may have to
    be pushed out of firepot with firepot scraper
    tool or other means.
    Ignition hole blocked. Scrape with solid piece of wire.
    Igniter not working. Remove ash drawer to see if igniter is
    glowing red on start-up.
    Check igniter wires for good connection.
    Replace igniter using 1/4 inch male /female
    spade connectors.
    Control box defective. Replace control box.
  14. Wood Heat Stoves

    Wood Heat Stoves Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2009
    Messages:
    1,901
    Loc:
    Nevada City, California
  15. CanadaClinker

    CanadaClinker New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2009
    Messages:
    295
    Loc:
    see any good look'n pellets, er,seeds??? NWOntario
    ..sorry, wrong post...cc :red:
  16. Mr Fixit

    Mr Fixit New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    68
    Loc:
    Northern Ontario, Canada
    Did you get the t stat from the dealer? be sure it is acceptible for use with the stove. Not all t stats will work with these stoves. IMO, if you want to test the T stat, spend the $20 on a cheap t stat and see if it works thru the night.
  17. DannMarr

    DannMarr New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    95
    Loc:
    Scranton
    I normally empty my fire pot every chance I get. Tonight I decided to let it build up. I raised the Thermostat to activate the insert. The red light came on but no pellets dropped. I waited and nothing. While the exhaust fan was running, I opened the door and stirred the ashes inside the pot. There were clinkers inside. Once I closed the door, the pellets dropped and shortly after the fire started. This is why I empty my fire pot everyday before going to bed and in the morning before going to work (this is a 6 hour span of time). Since I have been doing this I have not found the insert waiting to be reset. Keep an eye on the debris in the fire pot. Hope this helps somewhat. :smirk:
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page