1. Welcome Hearth.com Guests and Visitors - Please enjoy our forums!
    Hearth.com GOLD Sponsors who help bring the site content to you:
    Hearthstone Soapstone and Cast-Iron stoves( Wood, Gas or Pellet Stoves and Inserts)

QuadraFire Mt. Vernon Pellet Stove Auger Constantly Feeds

Post in 'The Pellet Mill - Pellet and Multifuel Stoves' started by yonderboymc, Mar 14, 2013.

  1. yonderboymc

    yonderboymc New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2013
    Messages:
    12
    I have a QuadraFire Mt. Vernon Pellet Stove about 7-8 years old.
    When my stove starts up it skips right past the start cycle and starts feeding pellets as if it already has a fire in the burnpot. If I'm lucky and there is not too many pellets in the pot and they actually ignite, the stove works GREAT - blowers function, shut-down cycle... If they do not ignite, the pot fills with pellets and eventually will shut down.

    The repair guy has been GREAT and has tried almost everything and then some with no solution.
    He has replaced the control board - no change, thermocouple - no change, thermostat - no change.
    He's going to replace the thermocouple once more, then he said MAYBE he'll need to replace the wiring harness(?). We're stumped!!

    By the way YES I have CLEANED and CLEANED my stove.

    One thing I did notice this morning was the ceramic cover for the thermocouple has been warn down, and is thinner compared to the piece that is held by the stove?

    I saw a thread talking about a control board with lights that signal what the sensors are telling it... Does anyone have one for a QuadraFire Mt. Vernon Pellet Stove? Does this control Board have lights?

    Sometimes it seems to happen more when the stove is warm, but I have seen it happen when it's ice cold too.

    PLEASE HELP!!!!
    Thanks,
    Mike

    3/14/2013 1pm est 2nd thermocouple was installed.
    3/14/2013 5pm est Came home to burn-pot full of pellets.

    Helpful Sponsor Ads!





  2. mralias

    mralias Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2008
    Messages:
    893
    Loc:
    MA
    This is confusing to me. Do you mean to say the pellets do feed at start up or don't feed at start up? If not, then how does it "actually ignite" pellets if they are not feeding on the start cycle.
  3. kinsmanstoves

    kinsmanstoves Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2007
    Messages:
    3,356
    Loc:
    Kinsman, Oh 44428 Brookfield, Oh 44403
    Board issue
  4. mralias

    mralias Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2008
    Messages:
    893
    Loc:
    MA
    A second board?
  5. yonderboymc

    yonderboymc New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2013
    Messages:
    12
    It feeds pellets and continues to feed pellets. It's suppose to drop pellets for the 1 minute and stop and wait for the fire to start. Mine drops pellets constantly.
  6. yonderboymc

    yonderboymc New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2013
    Messages:
    12
    on my second board, same problem.
  7. SmokeyTheBear

    SmokeyTheBear Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    Messages:
    12,228
    Loc:
    Standish, ME
    The stove thinks it is at temperature (for at least ignition to have happened) now if the T/C or its wiring were shorted would the controller read that as at or above the magic temperature?
  8. yonderboymc

    yonderboymc New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2013
    Messages:
    12
    More details:
    Cold start:
    As soon as thermostat sends for heat control board light turns GREEN. exhaust fan starts, pellets feed entire time until fire ignites.
    When convection blowers start control board light turns to RED.
    (up to temp thermostat shuts off)
    Board light is still RED.
    After 10 minutes the convection blowers and exhaust fan still running - light turns back to GREEN.
    the blowers/fans are off SHUT DOWN properly, 15 minutes later -- light is still GREEN.
  9. mralias

    mralias Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2008
    Messages:
    893
    Loc:
    MA
    Oh boy....Perhaps a short in the wiring frying the replacement board anytime it's replaced? I know you said it is replaced under warranty so I assume you don't get to look and see if anything looks fried on the board. Tough one. I defer to the masters of pellet stoves. You know who you are.
    kinsmanstoves likes this.
  10. yonderboymc

    yonderboymc New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2013
    Messages:
    12
    no - it's not burning or frying the board. He replaced the board to see if that would resolve the situation.
    I've looked @ the board and it looks fine.

Share This Page