Quadrafire Santa Fe just Died and would not Reset!

Post in 'The Pellet Mill - Pellet and Multifuel Stoves' started by Don2222, Nov 27, 2012.

  1. Don2222

    Don2222
    Expand Collapse
    Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2010
    Messages:
    7,801
    Likes Received:
    464
    Loc:
    Salem NH
    Hello

    IMO Quads are one of the best if not the best reliable stove I have worked on so far!

    So I am testing out the new aquisition, an Aug 2005 Quad Santa Fe. The workshop was cold and I check the T-Stat. T-stat was 60 Deg F and set for 70! So I hit reset and walked away. Came back later and still cold although more pellets were in the pot from the reset button action?

    Then I started fishing through the pellets in the pot and found this chunk of red cast iron that chipped off! That would block a few air holes. LOL

    No stove is perfect but I still like those Quads! Any comments? Has this happened to your Quad?

    So I cleaned the pot and hit the reset button again and is working again. See 2nd pic below!

    See pic below. Click to Enlarge
     

    Attached Files:

    Collapse Signature Expand Signature

    Helpful Sponsor Ads!





  2. DBCOOPER

    DBCOOPER
    Expand Collapse
    Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2010
    Messages:
    493
    Likes Received:
    98
    Loc:
    Stowe, Pa
    Gee, you said it died. I was wondering where you were going to spread its ashes...
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  3. heat seeker

    heat seeker
    Expand Collapse
    Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2011
    Messages:
    2,579
    Likes Received:
    381
    Loc:
    Northern CT
    Where did the cast come from? Looks like it might be important if it's part of the stove.
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  4. DexterDay

    DexterDay
    Expand Collapse
    Guest

    Don..... That has to be the dirtiest and nastiest burn pot I have seen!!!

    Please tell me that Cast Iron isn't part of the pot?? If it is, then please don't run the stove like that. Only asking for more problems.
     
  5. zrtmatos

    zrtmatos
    Expand Collapse
    Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2012
    Messages:
    353
    Likes Received:
    42
    Loc:
    Connecticut
    So where did that piece come from?
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  6. Don2222

    Don2222
    Expand Collapse
    Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2010
    Messages:
    7,801
    Likes Received:
    464
    Loc:
    Salem NH
    Hello

    Red Cast iron is like Bluestone, it chips! Yes that is from the fire pot. I still have to paint the stove. Also remove and paint the fire pot and put in stainless steel bolts and wing nuts on the burn pot.
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  7. tjnamtiw

    tjnamtiw
    Expand Collapse
    Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    4,432
    Likes Received:
    725
    Loc:
    North Georgia
    Looks like a bad casting to me. Time for a new burn pot. Empty that wallet, cheapskate!
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
    343amc, DexterDay and SmokeyTheBear like this.
  8. SmokeyTheBear

    SmokeyTheBear
    Expand Collapse
    Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    Messages:
    13,363
    Likes Received:
    1,662
    Loc:
    Standish, ME
    That's nothing wait until he opens it up and the entire bottom of the pot comes off.
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
    DexterDay likes this.
  9. tjnamtiw

    tjnamtiw
    Expand Collapse
    Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    4,432
    Likes Received:
    725
    Loc:
    North Georgia
    I just hope Don doesn't sell it to anyone I know!!!! :p!!!
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
    DexterDay likes this.
  10. Don2222

    Don2222
    Expand Collapse
    Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2010
    Messages:
    7,801
    Likes Received:
    464
    Loc:
    Salem NH
    Take a pic of your fire pot for me so we can compare?
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  11. tjnamtiw

    tjnamtiw
    Expand Collapse
    Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    4,432
    Likes Received:
    725
    Loc:
    North Georgia
    tn_IMAG0227.jpg This is my burnpot after 3 bags through it. A little bit of rust. I guess I didn't use enough rust stop. :I
    tn_IMAG0228.jpg
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  12. DexterDay

    DexterDay
    Expand Collapse
    Guest

    These are from last week.. It had been over a week since I pulled the clean-out rod. Burning Rocky mountain softwoods :)

    Not the hottest I have burned. But definitely a clean pellet to burn.

    2012-11-18_19-54-56_756.jpg 2012-11-18_19-54-09_909.jpg 2012-11-18_19-54-32_862.jpg
     
  13. sante fe

    sante fe
    Expand Collapse
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2011
    Messages:
    189
    Likes Received:
    27
    Loc:
    Poughkeepsie ny
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  14. sante fe

    sante fe
    Expand Collapse
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2011
    Messages:
    189
    Likes Received:
    27
    Loc:
    Poughkeepsie ny
    Don, I have a 2005 sante fe also. The thing just runs and runs with no problems.It has little quirks once you figure them out this thing is dependable.Not alot of bells and whistles but I think simple is better sometimes. I have been waiting for it to start giving me problems,I have been wanting a M55 so i have an excuse to buy one.But the stove keeps running 24/7 .I have the insert model.I agree if you do the basic cleaning its very reliable.Looks like you had a little hicup with yours.I bought mine new in 2005 and still have all orginal parts.
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  15. tjnamtiw

    tjnamtiw
    Expand Collapse
    Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    4,432
    Likes Received:
    725
    Loc:
    North Georgia
    That's interesting that you have those big holes in the sloped section! Mine obviously don't have those but it does have the 4 little ones at the bottom like yours. I can imagine how the ash gets blown out of the pot with those 4 holes pointing up like that!
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  16. kinsmanstoves

    kinsmanstoves
    Expand Collapse
    Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2007
    Messages:
    3,471
    Likes Received:
    499
    Loc:
    Ravenna, Ohio 44266
    The holes are in there for a reason. Keep em open.

    Eric
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  17. Don2222

    Don2222
    Expand Collapse
    Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2010
    Messages:
    7,801
    Likes Received:
    464
    Loc:
    Salem NH
    You may want to get your drill out for a great improvement! How old is yours? I have holes in both of my Santa Fe's
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  18. Don2222

    Don2222
    Expand Collapse
    Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2010
    Messages:
    7,801
    Likes Received:
    464
    Loc:
    Salem NH
    Yes, it is a super reliable machine! I snagged 2 Santa Fe FS 2005s for $500 each and neither one needed any new parts to get working.
    I did replace the burn pot screws on the first one with some nice stainless steel ones. See pics
    http://www.hearth.com/talk/threads/anyone-snap-their-left-burn-pot-bolt-on-a-quadrafire-santa-fe.88471/
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  19. sante fe

    sante fe
    Expand Collapse
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2011
    Messages:
    189
    Likes Received:
    27
    Loc:
    Poughkeepsie ny
    TJs Right, Mine has very small holes near the bottom also.Did you make them (MOD) or is that the way the new pots are?Also does it improve the amount of heat output?Thanks
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  20. DexterDay

    DexterDay
    Expand Collapse
    Guest

    Classic Bay comes with the holes in the "Slope".

    No mods done to my Quad. It just burns. And burns. And burns.

    I love the AE, and the Santa Fe and Castille are nice too. But the Classic Bay was built much different and has an exhaust path that optimizes the heat exchange.

    Love the stove. Just wish it had High/Low :)

    How many total holes are in the Santa Fe and/or Castilles pot? Sides and bottom?
     
  21. jtakeman

    jtakeman
    Expand Collapse
    Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2008
    Messages:
    13,496
    Likes Received:
    1,572
    Loc:
    Northwestern CT.
    It does, You just need the stat that zaps you so you can get up and change it! ::-)

    There has to be a way to get a stat to control a switch. Switch could cycle between high medium or low fire. Maybe a stat and a relay combo to work the switch? Just stinking(kind of like thinkin and when smoke starts coming out!)! ;hm
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
    SmokeyTheBear likes this.
  22. SmokeyTheBear

    SmokeyTheBear
    Expand Collapse
    Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    Messages:
    13,363
    Likes Received:
    1,662
    Loc:
    Standish, ME
    I understand that a tesla coil can get ones attention.
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  23. heat seeker

    heat seeker
    Expand Collapse
    Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2011
    Messages:
    2,579
    Likes Received:
    381
    Loc:
    Northern CT
    Tasers are compact and effective. Parallel the switch with a relay, and enjoy the heat!
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  24. tjnamtiw

    tjnamtiw
    Expand Collapse
    Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    4,432
    Likes Received:
    725
    Loc:
    North Georgia
    You have those BIG holes in the sloped section??? Not the little ones at the bottom but the BIG ones???
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  25. Don2222

    Don2222
    Expand Collapse
    Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2010
    Messages:
    7,801
    Likes Received:
    464
    Loc:
    Salem NH
    Hello

    Thanks for making me check exactly
    I have the 4 holes near the bottom of the slope section. Maybe we could drill holes closer to the top like on the CB1200 fire pot?

    See pic
    I like the first one so much, I got another one!
    When cousins are two of a kind!
    See Dualing Quads below
    If one runs out of pellets is there a way to automatically switch over to the other one just using the T-Stat connection on the back?
     

    Attached Files:

    Collapse Signature Expand Signature

Share This Page