Recommendation on resources for stove use- new VC intrepid 2 flexburn owner

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Yes you remove the bimetal thermometer and that K type thermocoupler goes in the same hole. Your looking for the K type 6inch 2k degree one.. I got mine from thermoworks
Question if I could. Thanks for the advice on the that thermocoupler. When I pushed it through the fiber insulation a piece of the fiber face on the inner side came off(approx 0.5 cm). The probe seems a little loose to me. Does that matter? If so is there anything I can do to fill that gap to make it a snug fit?

I am new to stoves(I have used open masonry fireplace for years). I recently purchased a VC intrepid 2 flexburn and am awaiting install into my masonry firebox. I have read a fair number of negative reviews on VC which now makes me a little concerned. Any words of wisdom on use and advice on resources for using a wood stove in general would be greatly appreciated. Thanks