Regency U43

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Dirge

Jan 24, 2015
PA
Greetings all. First timer here.

Please forgive my lack of knowledge. I have no prior experience with heating using a stove or fireplace. So I'm trying to catch on quickly. My current home is heated with electric. And we've had outages in the winter a few times which instigated my desire to find a back up source. Since we have natural gas run to our house, I decided to purchase a gas stove for our back up heat. I also have an unfinished basement that I will finish down the road, so this stove could heat this area as well.

I don't have enough money set aside at this point to purchase a brand new gas stove, so I have been keeping an eye out for used ones in good condition on Craigslist. A Regency U43 has just popped up on CL in new condition - never used. But it is set up for propane.

I've tried to research this model online to determine what I need to convert it to natural gas and also what I need to direct vent it through my wall to the outside. But since it is a discontinued model, information is scarce.

Here are my questions:

1. Can anyone confirm that the Regency U43 is a good stove?

2. What parts will I need to convert this stove from LP to NG and how difficult might it be to find them?

3. Can anyone confirm that this model is manufactured to be direct vented?

4. What type of pipe and what components do I need to direct vent through a wall to the outside?

5. What is the best way to load a stove into a truck, unload it and haul it into the house (without a towmotor)?