Renovating fireplace, question about venting

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

HRR1

Jan 17, 2014
NJ
Hi, this is my first time visiting hearth.com. I'm planning to update my fireplace (see pictures) to either an ethanol burning insert, basically just dropping a unit in or, having a gas fireplace installed. As you can see from the pix, it's a fairly dated looking fireplace and I'll probably cover it with cement board and then a tile or stone. My question relates to the venting because I might want to get rid of the raised hearth but there's vents in the side (photo 2). I take it those need to remain if it's going to burn wood as it does now but either of the two other options it can be removed. Also there's a vent right in the center of the front of the fireplace (photo 1) but I don't think that would be a problem to keep if needed. Also, where shown in the picture with the yellow sticky note (photo 3), there's a lot of cold air blowing through this opening even if I close the slider. Does this bring in cold air from a pipe in the chimney? There's A LOT of cold air coming in. The damper is closed. If I take the doors off I'm going to have to find a way to reduce the amount of cold air coming in through this vent somehow.

Any help/advice is appreciated.

Thanks,
photo 1.jpg photo 2.jpg photo 3.JPG
HR

Last edited by a moderator:
Nice job on the documentation. I would bet that the cold air you feel is simple convection from your cold chimney.
I will leave the post in the stove room for now, but may move it depending on the direction the posts take.