Riteway - Hitzer - DC Machine coal/wood stove design

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.
C

coalcracker

greetings. I've been heating with coal since 1994 in my own home, with wood during the shoulder months October and March-April. Before that I heated with wood back at my parents house from the 1970's until 1994. We grew up heating with coal and wood so to us, it was no big deal- and a skill learned at a very young age assisting adults with the furnace and stoves.

recently I've bought an old Riteway 37 coal/wood stove, mainly just to check it out and see how it was designed, compared to my much newer Harman. Although Riteway has been out of business now for 30 years, this stove design is still being made by Hitzer and DC Machine- as the models 75 and 82, and the Riteburn, respectively.

the claim to fame for these stoves has been, they had both a direct draft and indirect draft mode. Direct draft on any stove traditionally meant the shorter route out of the stove, the flue gas just exited the top side. Indirect draft meaning a more circuitous route through the stove, maybe a few more bends or downturns, to extract more heat from the flue gas, before it exited the stove on the top side.

after buying the Riteway 37, taking it apart, and actually MEASURING the flue gas routes, I found something very interesting, if not shocking, and maybe borderline hilarious. The "direct draft" route out the top of the stove, actually is 4" longer, than the "indirect draft" out the side of the firebox to the same side outlet.