Secondary burn times?

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

bfunk13

Minister of Fire
Sep 11, 2008
Wyoming
I've been getting some good secondary burns the last few nights.
I can keep the secondary going for about 15-20 minutes.
This is a full burn covering most of the top half of stove.
I can get a couple hours with a small burn but just a small flicker at the top of the stove.
What kind of times do you guys get out of a secondary?
I am not burning a full load yet, i suppose that has something to do with burn times?
Sure is cool to watch though!

Thanks Brad

I'm still a newb myself but I hope that once I have FULLY seasoned wood I'd get 5 to 7 hrs of gasification.

I'll watch for more posts on this one to tell me if my 'hopes' are ridiculous or not.

fishinpa said:
I'm still a newb myself but I hope that once I have FULLY seasoned wood I'd get 5 to 7 hrs of gasification.

I'll watch for more posts on this one to tell me if my 'hopes' are ridiculous or not.

Ain't gonna happen. The escaping volatile gases part of the show is a third of the burn cycle at the very best. If that explosive light show goes on for more than thirty minutes I start to worry that I dropped my butane lighter in the stove when I lit the kindling.

Gentle rolling blue flames on top for hour after hour is wood burning nirvana.

My best guess is somewhere between 4 and 7 hours for me. Honestly I don't know for sure because I'm always gone or asleep when I'm doing a long burn. My short and hot burns I'll go 3 to 4 hours on a small load.

bfunk13 said: