Should I line my existing chimney?

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

Dano25

Dec 31, 2017
Spartanburg SC
I’d like to put in a small wood stove for a secondary source of heat.

My flue has an inside diameter of 6 1/4”. I snaked my phone down carefully to see how my terra-cotta liner looked.

I would love some opinions on wether or not I should go with a liner.

I think you'll have a hell of a time getting a 6" chimney liner down that flue, 5-1/2" maybe doable.

I'm not an expert on evaluating the soundness of a terracotta liner like yours by viewing a camera inspection run, but I can tell you that such a flue can work fine. In our house we have two stoves: one with a 6" ss flex liner inside a large tile liner and the other running straight through an 8" x 11" clay tile liner like yours. The Woodstock Classic is tied into the clay liner through a thimble and it drafts great and stays nice and clean. I think the expansion and contraction of the liner must flake off the ash and creosote because all I have to do is scoop it out of a clean out area below the thimble once a year.

Reactions: heavy hammer
When you say a small wood stove, what is the exhaust size off the stove?
Is this stove venting through a Thimble hole or is there a fireplace opening?
I did not notice any cracked tiles, but there appeared to be missing mortar between some of the clay tiles.
Without knowing if you have the correct Code clearance requirements to combustibles, you definitely need a liner and probably are going to need 1/2" insulation around the liner.