Should I Replace My Old Solar Key???

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

feverdog71

May 21, 2014
Metamora, IL.
Hi,
I'd like to upgrade to a more efficient model, but I'm not sure if it would be worth the cost. I've been burning for 4 years now, but I don't really know much about wood stoves. I was hoping someone with some knowledge could give me some advice.

Some info about my stove:
It's a Solar Key, but I have no idea what year it was made.
I try to burn 24/7 and keep my furnace off as much as possible.
I probably burned about 4 cord this past winter.
I have an 8in. outlet which goes directly to the chimney flue
Square footage to heat: 1650

Any thoughts on upgrading? I don't mind the Solar Key, but if I could substantially cut down on how much wood I burn, that would be great.

How much should I price my stove if I did upgrade?

Are there any programs or tax incentives to upgrade?

DSCN1402.jpg

Thanks for any help you can provide!!

Welcome. The Solar Key was made in the late 70's I think. It is pre-EPA and reminds me a bit of Orley's design. It may be a strongly radiant heater, but I think you will easily save wood by updating. Modern stoves are much more efficient and clean burning. However, there may be some compromises. A new stove is really going to want to burn dry wood and the wood length could be much shorter. Typical for many stoves is 16-18". Also, they like a stronger draft than most older stoves. How tall is the chimney on the stove?

Stove costs runs wide depending on the requirements, options, style and size stove desired. What would the budget be?