Shut down Tarm... Or Not?

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Birdman

May 21, 2008
NH
So... this is my first year with the Tarm Solo. It was great. It is May... and the nights have been cool to cold.. so i have had it running at night and for those 5 showers in the am. I fill it at 8 pm and it idles quite a bit at night.. but does give the house that quick burst of heat when it calls for it around midnight. I am burning dry pine.. had a lot of it as i had to chop up the logs i was going to use for my garage( then didn;t have time to build and the worms got to them). Anyways.... my question. I was going to clean it all out and shut it down for the season... then i thought.. would it be ok to not shut it down.?.. and instead even during the hot days and nights of the summer... just fire it up once a week? maybe a night firing once a week ? A half firebox full? oh ya.. i have no storage...

For me the shutdown process gave me a chance to really deep clean my EKO. I think it's important to get after all the nooks and cranies in your boiler from time to time. And as far as burning once a week I'm not sure this is enough to prevent moisture from collecting and potentially doing some damage between burns? I'm sure others will chime in....

I thought with storage.. you burn once a week ? Why would it be any different without storage?

Birdman said:
I thought with storage.. you burn once a week ? Why would it be any different without storage?