Some questions about heat exchangers

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

mx842

Dec 7, 2015
Richmond Va
I have been collecting parts for a boiler I want to build for several years. I'm not quite ready to build my big boiler and have been trying to get by with an old wood boiler that is basically just a 30 gal round tank with 9 fire tubes running through it. The boiler tank just sit on top of a fire box that is roughly 2' X 3' on the inside with a firebrick lining.

I know an updraft system like this is not the best way to heat water but I had it so I figured I might as well try and make due until I got my shop finished and could start on my new SS boiler. I had it set up as an open system that took the water out of the boiler and it ran over to a hundred or so gallon plastic tank and from there I pumped that water to my manifold and through the 7 loops that are buried in my concrete floor. That was working fairly well until I discovered that one or two of the tubes has started leaking and for the rest of the winter I got by but it was a lot of work keeping the creosote it was making at bay and throwing enough wood in the firebox to keep it hot enough to keep things from freezing up.