1. Welcome Hearth.com Guests and Visitors - Please enjoy our forums!
    Hearth.com GOLD Sponsors who help bring the site content to you:
    Hearthstone Soapstone and Cast-Iron stoves( Wood, Gas or Pellet Stoves and Inserts)
    Caluwe - Passion for Fire and Water ( Pellet and Wood Hydronic and Space Heating)
  1. MartyW

    MartyW New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2013
    Messages:
    4
    Loc:
    Southern Maine
    Hello, I have bought a house that has a St. Croix Prescott EXL that has been working great for us but, today I reached for the thermostat and a static shock shut the stove off. It came back on for a little bit but shut down and now it does not even have a power light. I checked the fuses in the control panel and they seem to be good. do you think I fried the control board? Any help would be great, the sound of the oil furnace kicking on is giving me the blues.

    Helpful Sponsor Ads!





  2. DBCOOPER

    DBCOOPER Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2010
    Messages:
    384
    Loc:
    Stowe, Pa
    I would try unplugging it for a minute, then try again.
  3. MartyW

    MartyW New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2013
    Messages:
    4
    Loc:
    Southern Maine
    I tried that a couple times with no luck. Thanks
  4. P38X2

    P38X2 Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2012
    Messages:
    1,735
    Loc:
    Jaffrey, NH
    Hope you get your stove sorted out. I know things like computers, etc can be very susceptible to static discharge.

    Humidifier ;) ....or at least ground yourself out on something before touching it.
    Jack Morrissey likes this.
  5. MartyW

    MartyW New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2013
    Messages:
    4
    Loc:
    Southern Maine
    Update: I got my stove to work in manual, but it ran in pilot mode only (on/off light blinking). By doing some research I found out that is a problem with the Thermostat circuit. I bought a new control board slapped her in yesterday and I am back in business. My stove was down for over a week, in that time I did a whole lot of reading on here. I must say this place is a great resource, My stove is much much cleaner (even that hard to get place behind the firebox) I feel I have a much better understanding on how everthing works. My stove is a blast furnace now and we are loving it even more than before my little accident. Stay Warm! 100_2734.JPG
    PJPellet, SmokeyTheBear and jtakeman like this.
  6. gfreek

    gfreek Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2010
    Messages:
    643
    Loc:
    Beautiful Attica/Varysburg,New York
    So how can this be prevented in the future? How do you discharge yourself before touching the stove??
  7. LMPS

    LMPS Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2010
    Messages:
    391
    Loc:
    Coastal, Maine
    Just did the same thing and had to replace my thermostat or what I should call control unit with my stove as it control everything.....seems the static electricity is worse this year than any other year I can remember. Thinking seriously about a whole house humidifier.
  8. LMPS

    LMPS Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2010
    Messages:
    391
    Loc:
    Coastal, Maine
    I have taken to touching the baseboard under my thermostat/control unit before touching it. Hopefully this will discharge it. Tried touching the wife to give her a little shock but she was having none of it....;)
  9. Lower bucks

    Lower bucks New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2013
    Messages:
    36
    A cold beer in the hand usually acts as a grounding device never approach a stove unless you are armed.
    MartyW and Thaddius Wenderoth like this.
  10. briansol

    briansol Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2009
    Messages:
    1,782
    Loc:
    central ct
    ALWAYS ground yourself to something else in these dry times. Especially if you've been sitting on a microfiber couch with sweat pants on.
  11. jtakeman

    jtakeman Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2008
    Messages:
    13,582
    Loc:
    Northwestern CT.
    Step on the hearth pad if you have too. Carpet and computer/electronics don't mix well. Heck grab the ash bucket or something.

    I tore the carpeting up in the computer/wreck room after the second PC. Haven't had an issue since we put down the laminate flooring. Plus I like the looks too!
  12. MartyW

    MartyW New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2013
    Messages:
    4
    Loc:
    Southern Maine
    I like it! Does Captain Morgans work too?
    Delta-T likes this.
  13. MarkF48

    MarkF48 Burning Hunk

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2011
    Messages:
    122
    Loc:
    Central MA
    I have a recliner that generates wicked static. I usually try to discharge myself first into the body of the stove which is or should be grounded through the wall outlet connection. I have found that spraying the chair and even the carpet with Static-Guard or similar eliminates or reduces the static electricity I pick up. A diluted with water solution of fabric softener sprayed is also something that reportedly works to cut down static.
  14. SwineFlue

    SwineFlue Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2012
    Messages:
    564
    Loc:
    NE Pa
    You can also ground yourself on a light switch. You may need to touch the screw if it has a plastic wallplate.
  15. Mr. Spock

    Mr. Spock Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2013
    Messages:
    514
    Loc:
    SW MA
    Good advice from all. Get some moisture in the house or ground yourself before reaching for the controls. You need about 55% humidity. I always touch a cool part of the stove before adjusting if static is present( humidifier empty).

    Might also verify the outlet your plugged into is grounded electrically. I have seen loose/corroded ground connections at outlet, breaker panel ground bar and main grounds. If the ground circuit is compromised static voltage can go through critical circuits seeking the neutral leg.

    :: edit :: possible the stoves ground bonding is loose too.
  16. Snowy Rivers

    Snowy Rivers Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2010
    Messages:
    1,412
    Loc:
    NW Oregon
    just get in the habit of touching the metal part of the stove first, as this is grounded via the house wiring.

    Static discharge is tough on the micro electronics for sure.

    The more complex the stove controls become, the more succeptable they are to static discharge.

    The older stoves with the basic timers were far more robust and really never had much issue with static.

    Still a good idea to ground yourself to the stove case (touch the hopper lid) before touching any of the controls.

    Snowy
  17. MarkF48

    MarkF48 Burning Hunk

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2011
    Messages:
    122
    Loc:
    Central MA
    Before touching the stove controls if you think you've got a really good static charge ........

    ..... give your significant other a kiss. :)
    briansol likes this.
  18. jtakeman

    jtakeman Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2008
    Messages:
    13,582
    Loc:
    Northwestern CT.
    Before I touch, I have to discharge myself? Ahhh That sounds a bit too kinky for us old guys! ;em

    Smoke made me do it! He's really a bad influence on us! :(
    Brokenwing, SwineFlue and LMPS like this.
  19. Mr. Spock

    Mr. Spock Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2013
    Messages:
    514
    Loc:
    SW MA
    You don't have a ball and chain to keep you grounded at all times?
    Brokenwing, jtakeman and SwineFlue like this.
  20. DneprDave

    DneprDave Burning Hunk

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2011
    Messages:
    237
    Loc:
    Western WA
    Touch your cat before touching the stove!;lol

    Dave
  21. XXV-AK

    XXV-AK Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2010
    Messages:
    47
    Loc:
    ANC Alaska
    Do you have a surge protector or a UPS plugged into the pellet stove?
  22. KodiakII

    KodiakII Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2011
    Messages:
    416
    Loc:
    Eastern Ontario
  23. LMPS

    LMPS Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2010
    Messages:
    391
    Loc:
    Coastal, Maine
    Finally got my invoice from the dealer for the replacement of the control unit and it was not too bad, $249 of which $170 was for the part and $60 was for the labor (dealer is an hour from house so there was more travel then actual labor on site). I though this was reasonable given what it could have been.
    Also they did send me the old part back so Jay when I have sometime if you are still willing to work on it I will ship it to you. I will IM you when I am ready. Just changed jobs so it is kind of crazy right now for me so most likely not until mid-April until I can focus on it.
  24. A1Stoves.com

    A1Stoves.com Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2011
    Messages:
    666
    Loc:
    Northern CA
    $60 labor for 2 hours driving and then a service call?
    you got a steal- that might cover the fuel
  25. LMPS

    LMPS Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2010
    Messages:
    391
    Loc:
    Coastal, Maine
    They treat me well, that is why I keep the service with them. And $170 for the part is very reasonable.

Share This Page